Jess Openshaw's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jess’s full profile.


  • 7 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Outdoor Education Teacher
  • Bachelor of Applied Science (Human Movement)
  • From Brighton, South Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love travelling, feeling free, new experiences, meeting new people, sharing experiences, the ocean, surfing (couches and waves), my friends near and far, family, and my beautiful partner Kate.

We live in Hayborough- Approximately 1 hour (80km) from Adelaide on the south coast of the Fleurieu Peninsula (between Victor Harbor and Port Elliot).

We are located RIGHT ON THE BEACHFRON, diretcly in front of a surf break called Chiton Rocks.

For fun- I surf, play in the outdoors, travel in a van and see live music.

For money- I teach surf education and outdoor education, and travel around South Australia and Victoria doing this.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To be a part of this amazing movement and worldwide community of travellers and hosts.

We have an amazing house (with a double guest room, right on the beach!) that we would so love to share, for free, with Couchsurfers while we are here (up until August 2017).

To meet new people as hosts, as well as Couchsurfers on upcoming travels.


As above.

  • freelancing

Music, Movies, and Books

The Jezabels
Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

The Boys Are Back (filmed locally in South Australia)
Castles In The Sky (surf film)

The Alchemist
Lonely Planets

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

White water rafted the Franklin River in Tasmania this year. With 12 mates, independently, over 10 days, in complete wilderness.

Teach, Learn, Share

Our culture.
Your culture.
Our home. Your home.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversations over coffee.
Outdoor enthusiasm.
Good manners and savvy dish-washing skills.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, India, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Tonga, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Jess’s full profile.