Logo orange

Jess Seward

Ningbo, Zhejiang, China

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jess's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 19 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Educational Consultant
  • B.A. Film Studies/Creative Writing
  • From Palm Coast, FL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

My favorite thing to do is meet new people, get to know what makes them tick, their experiences. Like many people on couchsurfing, my absolute passion is traveling. I think the people you meet while traveling is the best way to learn more about the world, and hopefully learn something about yourself. I consider myself a friendly, fun-loving person. I enjoy dancing goofily in loud clubs and having great conversations in quiet, hole in the wall bars. Both are great.

I backpacked for 3 months in Southeast Asia in the spring of 2014 and now I'm back for a second round of 6 months or so because I love it so much. Amazing people, sights and food. Since graduating from university, I was working in a "small" city in China (like five million ha) for the past two years, but now I'm traveling. My traveling style is flexible and impulsive, going where the wind takes me. I like the freedom to do what I want when I can.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed in London, Berlin, and Amsterdam. Gone to several couchsurfing meetings in Europe and in China. Met some great couchsurferings in my travels.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first heard about couchsurfing from a friend that I traveled around with in South America, and it's one of the best things I've ever learned about. Each person I've surfed with has been fantastic, which makes sense, considering the type of person that's willing to let a practical stranger into their home. Totally buying the slogan about making the world better one couch at at time.

Interests

Ultimate Frisbee, music, drawing, photography, learning new languages, films, and reading.

Music, Movies & Books

I have somewhat dorkish taste. I love fantasy, science-fiction with badass protagonists, both in films and books.

Wernerz Herzog isn't strictly my favorite director, but definitely one of my idols for the way he lives his life. Been into a lot of Contemporary East Asian film. Wong Kar-wai: total respect man. Koreeda: fave.

I've been into a lot of different electronic music recently, from liquid drum & bass to progressive house to ambient to melodic dubstep and everything in between.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I was hanging out with a bunch of friends starting around 6 am at an outdoor cafe in Madrid having breakfast. We were talking for hours, and as we talked, the city transformed around us to become the actual day. Around 12 in the afternoon, we got to talking to a Spanish 82 year-old brother, and his 90 year-old sister. The brother bought us all a round of gin & tonics we talked for hours about his life and all of the things he said seen living in Spain, what he had lived through, etc.

Teach, Learn, Share

Free counters

What I Can Share With Hosts

I'm a bit chatty. Sometimes I can't shut up, especially after a few beers, but I also love to hear what others say. I can't really cook (I make sandwiches!), but I'm always happy to buy a host a couple of drinks and share some stories.

Countries I've Visited

Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Germany, Honduras, Hungary, Malaysia, Netherlands, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

China, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jess's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile