Jay Ferris

Washington, DC, United States

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jay’s full profile. It’s free!


  • A certain English speaking country's embassy in Washington
  • University of South Carolina/various other places/seeing ...
  • From Columbia, SC USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Current mission is to enjoy my life and try to make sure that I reach out to others and do my part to make life better for others.


I'm a very friendly, free spirited and genuine person. I love to travel, love to meet new people, and see new things. I'm currently living in Washington DC, in the Capitol Hill area near Eastern Market. Prior to DC I was living in Italy for the past 2 1/2 years and had the privilege of seeing much of Europe when I was there. Now I'm back in the States in the nation's capitol. I'm an open minded and proud of my country and after living overseas and having traveled to over 35 other countries, I can really relate to other cultures and other travelers. I really miss Italy and my friends there, and they taught me a lot about myself and about the way I see the world.


Very simple. Life is the most valuable thing you will ever own so use it. I think the more open minded a person is the more that person learns and understands about others and the world we live in. There is no kind of person that has ever made me mad or upset whether I agreed with them or not. I am great friends with lots of different kinds of people and I truly believe that makes me a more well rounded and stronger person.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing



I have hosted events from Couchsurfing and have surfed in a few places, most notably Lisbon Portugal. Couchsurfing has been a big part of my life in the past 3 years and I want to continue that now that I live in the United States.


Biking, Hiking, Traveling, Athletics, Aviation showing people around my country.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like Classic Rock music and the 80's. Fleetwood Mac and Stevie Nicks are probably my favorite, but I like a lot of different kinds of music. I like to read and like to talk about current events and solutions to problems and issues facing society from time to time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'd have to lump it all into moving to Europe and the traveling. I've seen a lot bigger part of the world now and its changed my life. I've been skiing in the Alps, stayed in a former luxury Communist hotel in Bratislava, went kayaking in Lake Garda, Oktoberfest in Munich, New Years in Zurich, and got a bloody nose in an Orange fight in Ivrea Italy. The list goes on and on, and I'm very thankful for a unique situation that allowed me to live there and experience all of this.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've basically learned that no matter your personal opinion of things whether it be politics or life in general, its important to hear other people, and be open minded and non-judgmental. What seems ridiculous and abnormal to you, may be completely normal to someone else. We all come from different places, different worlds, different backgrounds etc, but in the end we all still breathe the same air and we are all human beings. I disagree sometimes with things in life, but I've learned to have respect and understanding for the things that I don't see eye to eye with. I see myself as truly a moderate, rational and common sense type person and I do see more than one way to a solution most of the time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jay’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups