Justin Fitzgerald's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Taiwanese, Vietnamese
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • English Teacher
  • Simon Fraser University & University of Sussex, BA in...
  • From Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am 27 years old, currently working as an English teacher in Vietnam. I live with my partner who is also an English teacher. I am from Canada, growing up near Toronto, I moved to Vancouver, British Columbia and have made that my new (Canadian) home since 2008.

Before I became an English teacher, I was a bartender for several years in the Gastown neighbourhood of Vancouver, meeting many travelers along the way.

I studied Politics with a particular interest in International Relations at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, and I also studied for a year abroad at the University of Sussex in Brighton, UK during that time.

I worked as a Residential Advisor in university residences for 2 years, as well a coffee shop, and the kitchen of a pub while in university. I am very sociable and love meeting people from around the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have only used CouchSurfing for one night in Paris prior to meeting up with a university group visiting France, back in 2012.

I had an amazing experience, even though it was only for one night, my Parisian hosts were very welcoming, offered me dinner and breakfast and provided a comfortable and extremely friendly environment.

I will definitely be using CouchSurfing in the future.

Interests

I am a die-hard sports fan, particularly ice hockey but also football (American and soccer), and rugby. I also love outdoor activities including mountain biking, hiking, camping etc. Living in Vancouver has been one of the most enriching experiences. It is a world city with a beautiful geographic setting and a vibrant culture. Living a year in Europe has opened my eyes to the global world and has allowed me to meet people and visit places that I have always dreamed of living in Canada.

  • culture
  • environment
  • breakfast
  • coffee
  • pub crawls
  • shopping
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • hockey
  • rugby
  • international relations

Music, Movies, and Books

I love watching films of all types. Denis Villeneuve is one of my favourite directors, responsible for Sicario, Prisoners and Incendies. I also enjoy thrillers, dramas, and comedy.

My music taste is all over the place from hip-hip to garage rock, and jazz to electronic.

I also love to read and I am currently reading The Sympathizer.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing a mountain in Lake Placid, New York during a blizzard. It was a camping trip with my high school when I was 17 and we were expecting a walk in the park but ended up in a snow storm. It was the highest physical and mental achievement I have reached in my life.

Moving to Europe for a year. You find out a lot about yourself when you head 1000s of kilometres away to live in a foreign country. You are tested with your ability to meet people and make the most of life in a different country but you are truly rewarded when it all comes together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, England, France, Germany, Netherlands, Philippines, Spain, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!