Jort Florent Gemmeke's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jort Florent’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • PhD student in computer science
  • I studied Physics
  • From I grew up in Vlissingen, at the sea
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To have a meaningful life

ABOUT ME

I am a 28 year old PhD student, happily maried for a year (romantic reasons - in the Netherlands getting married is quickly getting out of fashion) and living in the southeast of the Netherlands.

In general, I am always in a good mood (yes even when I get up early), I am a crowd-person in big groups (you know, making jokes etc) but more thoughtfull in smaller groups.

At the moment, my big hobby is singing and playing the guitar, although that has been known to trade places with my nbr 2 and 3 hobbies - books and water-sports.

PHILOSOPHY

Hmmm, always a crowd favorite. I assume I want to live a meaningful live, to have achieved something that lasts longer or has a broader scope than my own development. At the same time, my own development is very important to me: I want to experience it all, learn everything there is to learn. Every year, I want to look back and think, wow, I've learned so much, I had a great year!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I share a couch.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None!

Interests

Traveling, Computer (& -games), music, playing the guitar, singing (I take) both singing and guitar lessons, all water-sports (swimming, sailing, kayakking, kanoeing, rafting, diving), hiking (I organize and guided hikings holidays), working/science (yes I actually love my job), dancing (mostly ballroom), sharing time with friends, etc...

  • books
  • singing
  • fashion
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • boating
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • sports
  • swimming
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I like lots of movies - except thirllers and horror...I get scared! I mostly read fantasy - and if you visit, you can browse my huge collection of fantasy books!
As for music, I am broadly oriented but mostly enjoy rock songs and balads (e.g. the campfire'music!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I 'hitch-hiked' by boat and sailed across the PAcific on a tallship for three months. I cooked and worked as a sailer in return for this...and I saw the most amazing Islands!

I visited french polynesia, which are beautiful islands...and I never imaged encountering trading with food and objects instead of money...while well developped, there we just not enough supplies/shops to actually do something with money!

An amazing journey!

Teach, Learn, Share

I know all about computers - but who'd be interested in that while travelling? Hmmm...well, I guess I can teach you some dutch songs, and the (guitar chords) to match. I wont bother with dutch cooking cause frankly - it's not that nice!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Jort Florent’s full profile. It’s free!