John Holland's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

Overview

  • 57 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Teacher
  • Degree (MPhys)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Overcome British misery.

ABOUT ME

Physics graduate turned maths teacher/musician. Enjoys swimming, cycling, reading, cheerful characters and wine.

PHILOSOPHY

Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surf n' host.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

First surfed in Slovakia and Hungary. Done a bit in the Middle East, South America, Japan and Iceland. Good times.

Interests

Science, maths, music, travel(...), people, books, computers, bonsai trees, camping, photography, swimming, chess, juggling, origami, unicycles, all the usual...

  • books
  • photography
  • cooking
  • wine
  • chess
  • reading
  • traveling
  • homebrewing
  • juggling
  • origami
  • music
  • cycling
  • camping
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Anything that makes me think.

Music: Quite an extensive list. You'd have to be sitting comfortably on a couch for this one really ;-)

Books: Same as movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sunrise atop Mt. Fuji. Epic!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share: Music, maths/physics (if that's what you came on holiday for), homebrew tips, origami (hell yes), juggling with more than 3 balls, how to successfully maintain the health of bonsai trees, chess, what not to leave under a motorbike seat whilst travelling (learned the hard way) and other travel sagas.

Would like to learn: How to cook unusual things, what goes on in the minds of creationists, whether or not I should desert the UK indefinitely in search of fairer lands, and pretty much everything else.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Shelter, food, beer, banter.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Belize, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, North Korea, Norway, Panama, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

My Groups