Jordan Moore's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jordan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • ESL teacher / musician
  • Bachelor of Arts (Philosophy & Languages)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've been in Melbourne too long. Ready to get moving. Studied music, philosophy and languages. ESL teacher & book store assistant. Musician.

CURRENT MISSION

To have an adventure busking and gigging through NYC & Europe. My partner (Layton) and I bought one way tickets to NYC then from NYC to Berlin. The plan: buy a van! Meet people, and make sweet sweet music.

I want to meet new people and hear their stories. Be inspired by something different.

As well as find the best pancake recipe.

PHILOSOPHY

Treat others as you wish to be treated.

Note: I'm vegan but I don't judge. It makes my insides feel better but it's not a healthy option for everyone.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I used couch surfing when I went on my first journey to Europe and the UK. Since then, I forgot my password and haven't logged on. Even so, over the past two years, I've been having travellers sleep on my couch, shared the dinner table and have had a good old yarn over some stories.

Now after a year of living in an open share home, my partner and I are planning on traveling for a long time and want to meet new people -- so, we thought it was time to dust off the account.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed with...

Flora: I was hosted by Flora in Paris and it. was. delightful. It was a last minute thing for my friend Jessie and I when we went to Rock En Seine for the weekend. We ate baguettes, I attempted to speak French (dismally) and went on a picnic with her friends. Between eating a ridiculous amount of cheese and chasing off gypsies, it was a really fun!

Elisabeth: In London, we didn't really think about accommodation until it was too late. So, after long harrowing hours of sending requests, we finally tried the emergency group. SUCCESS! Elisabeth was amazing, she told us about little quirks of London, about her our country back home, she cooked crepes and she was so bubbly. Unfortunately she had uni during the day but she was able to squeeze us around her busy schedule and made us feel very at home with her flat mates.

Interests

Cooking is something I've done since I was a kid. My dad always made sure I helped out in the kitchen. I'm also a neat freak when it comes to dishes.

In my free time, for the past three years I've worked with an expressionist and improvisational vocal coach from Paris. Together we've done a lot of work and projects that mostly advocate that everyone has a voice.

In Melbourne, I play in a five piece band called Crazy Comfort. I do backing vocals and play funky clarinet. It's a fun rock / blues / gypsy band and it's been really easy to come together, jam then get on stage.

I also play guitar, my beautiful baby is an electric maton with a dragon burnt in the back. I write songs under the right inspiration or influence.

ULTIMATE DREAM: One day, I would like to compose a full or orchestral piece for film.

I'm very open to others interests. I love to see people get passionate about what they do. I may never be a wine connoisseur but if you love it, I'll enjoy listening and learning about the oak hues and flowery aromas.

Video games are also a guilty pleasure. I'm a Nintendo kid so Mario Kart, Zelda and Donkey Kong; I'm down.

  • arts
  • writing
  • dancing
  • environment
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • meditation
  • partying
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • live music
  • karaoke
  • languages
  • film

Music, Movies, and Books

I love lots of different types of music; jazz, blues, rock, gypsy, some pop, soul and some hip hop. I'm very open to new music, especially local music.

To pick a few favourites : The Gorillaz, Vulfpeck, Daft Punk, Snarky Puppy, Amy Winehouse, Benjamin Clementine, Radiohead, Clint Mansell, Nina Simone...

I'm a sucker for a killer soundtrack from Tarantino to John Williams

Books are good. I love to read. I've worked in a bookstore for the past year and it's my happy place.

Classics are always a win.

Movies and television shows are a favourite past time. I love all the latest fads like Rick & Morty and Bojack Horseman and just pretty generally Netflix. I've seen the Office more times than I care to admit and love Orange is the New Black. One of the funniest shows I've watched recently is GLOW.

I'm into pop culture. I'm looking forward to the new Star Wars, loved Lord of the Rings but the Hobbit was a mistake. David Lynch is perfect for a very specific kind of mood. I enjoy a good musical as well as the Disney classics. I have cried more than once in most Pixar films. Tarantino is my kind of violence. Guy Ritchie's got style. I Heart Huckabees is a fantastic film. I want to watch more foreign films. I know a bit too much about the history of King Kong.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

To be honest, I've avoided this space for a while. But it's been bothersome seeing this box blank. There's so much pressure to write about something 'amazing'. I haven't yodelled on Mount Everest nor done the chicken dance on Kilamanjaro... not yet anyway.

Probably the most amazing experience that I had was while I was in Costa Rica.
I was helping at a marine research facility keeping records of dolphin behaviour patterns and pods. This involves staring through binoculars and taking photos from a non-invasive distance. On one of our trips to the gulfo, we spotted a small family, mumma, papa and baby, of whales that had never been recorded or seen there before. This data and photographical evidence allowed the team to present an undefeatable case to protect the area from tourism take overs that would disrupt the Eco system. That's a bit special. I was on that boat every second day for 3 weeks but that last day, was the day that we really made a difference.

Also, getting up on stage. It's absolutely terrifying for me and amazing every time.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Speak the English. How to play the clarinet or read music.
Learn: French, Spanish, new music.
Share: Stories. I love stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Costa Rica, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jordan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups