James Gregory's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 17 References 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 69, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Retired from 30 years at the University of Minnesota. My ...
  • I have a degree in Psychology from University of Californ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To share ideas and interests with others who have positive goals for peace and conserving the planet. Want to hear that there are others out there who are not willing to give up on the human race.


Nothing is more exciting than meeting new people and learning about their lives, countries and cultures. I have met the best people while traveling and get a charge from understanding something new in the world.

I like to keep in touch with friends I have had for forty years and still enjoy getting together with them and wondering at the changes we have seen. I enjoy getting people together for meals, movies, plays and exploring new things.

I get great satisfaction seeing people enjoying new experiences and introducing people to my favorite things for their first time.


We are interested in seeing peace and justice activity applied throughout the world, hoping that CS can lead to improved understanding and cultural tolerance among people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Always have been interested in hosting international
travelers and students. Plan to host and travel with my wife now that I am retired. Have got a 3 week trip through Europe planned for this summer including a wedding in Prague of a former Couchsurfing guest.


We started out hosting a house concert with Kitt Bender who I met through CouchSurfing. It was a small but enthusiastic group and we got to know Kit a lot better. Have since hosted dozens more and have always had a good experience.


I have a great interest in sailing but recently sold my 22' cruising sailboat. I enjoy traveling When I was younger I backpacked Yosemite and the Sierra Nevada Mountains.

I enjoy art and have taken sculpture classes (wood, metal, clay, iron and bronze casting). At present, both my wife and I take Calligraphy and Chinese Landscape Brush Painting classes. I enjoy collecting Japanese Art.

I have a complete wood shop and a lapidary studio where I collect, cut and polish agates (especially Lake Superior Agates).

I have a degree in Psychology and was very interested in Ericksonian Hypnosis and Neurolinguistic Programming.

In addition to our many common interests my wife is a Master Reiki practitioner doing volunteer energy therapy in hospitals and hospice.

  • wildlife
  • birds
  • arts
  • culture
  • concerts
  • shopping
  • movies
  • traveling
  • painting
  • cycling
  • snorkeling
  • sailing
  • calligraphy
  • history
  • psychology
  • volunteering
  • sightseeing
  • beaches
  • parks
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Koyaanisqatsi- the movie. And I am one of the people who enjoy listening to Philip Glass in general. My wife and I enjoy getting season tickets to the Symphony. My wife, Christina plays the piano and sings. I would like to learn to play the Shakuhachi (Japanese Bamboo Flute) someday.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing the sunrise in the mountains at about 10,000 feet is inspiring. Seeing the Milky Way from those same mountains at night is humbling.

The memories of sitting on a beach in Finland watching the searchlights from a Russian border guard tower sweep the water during the cold war is a powerful graphic for me.

Living in the middle of thousands of nesting Gooney Birds when I was a boy has given me an appreciation of nature and wildlife. Snorkeling on an island atoll is something I would like to experience again. As a boy I also lived in Occupied Japan and now appreciate those moments in time when the forces of history converge to create unique transformations of culture.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can learn from anyone. We especially resonate with people who have become open minded and willing to grow and help others do the same.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Nature and parks in Minnesota, especially North Shore of Lake Superior. Best organic restaurants in Minneapolis. Museums, Symphony. Biking and perhaps some local sightseeing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Norway, Portugal, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups