Fotos de Elizabeth Matthew

Perfil no verificado

  • Pago no verificado
  • Teléfono no verificado
  • Documento de identidad no verificado
  • Dirección no verificada

No acepta invitados

  • Índice de respuesta del 70%
  • Última conexión hace about 23 hours

Únete a Couchsurfing para ver el perfil completo de Elizabeth. ¡Es gratis!

Resumen

  • 19 Recomendacións 10 Confirmadas y positivas
  • Fluent in English, Irish; learning Dutch, French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Miembro desde 2011
  • Archaeologist
  • The most important things I learn are from my Dad
  • No se ha indicado la ciudad natal
  • Has completado un 100% de tu perfil

Sobre mí

Note: the house details are for my place in The Netherlands, not Sapporo. I can't update the couch description on the mobile app so I'm posting it here. Have a small place in the northern district near the uni and right opposite the subway station. I don't have much room and I can only offer a comfy enough spot on the floor with blankets and sleeping bags. For these reasons I prefer short term (preferably 1 night) guests.

CURRENT MISSION

Get through a 4 year PhD

ABOUT ME

I'm 27, living in Groningen (edit: currently Sapporo) and studying full time. I love travelling, studying new languages (comparing and contrasting them), and meeting new people, especially through couch-surfing and hitch-hiking. Met the most interesting and inspiring people this way and had some wonderful adventures. I love tattoos and the stories behind them, serious or funny. I love music and listen to almost anything. My greatest ambitions are to see every country in the world and to drive a crane.

PHILOSOPHY

Not religious at all but I do stand by the "treat others as you'd like to be treated" philosophy. I believe you should never expect bad things to happen but merely be aware that they might. You can't control when, where, how, who or why. It is this philosophy that allows me to branch out, travel, meet new people, expand my horizons. Never have I had a bad experience in this way. Maybe I'm just very lucky :)

Por qué estoy en Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the minute I'm both using the site to find hosts in places I travel to as well as to meet interesting people and get a local's insight. I think the site's philosophy should be extended to other aspects of life. I am also finally settled enough to host.

Intereses

Archaeology, history, the past, languages, travel, teaching English, tattoos, music, books, activism, the environment.

  • books
  • tattoos
  • environment
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skydiving
  • paragliding
  • history
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains

Música, películas y libros

Music- I go through phases but have a general knowledge of most genres. Anything coming from Jamaica - ska, rocksteady, reggae, dub, new roots.

I probably haven't seen most famous films if you ask me. That or I've seen half of it because I fall asleep a lot. Famous films would be Lord of the Rings trilogy, Children of Men, The Road, Shawshank Redemption...I've been going to the cinema a lot lately to see more low-budget or alternative films. It's something I love to do with friends or on my own to unwind. Some recent gems are Sami Blood, After the Storm, The Commune, Lady Macbeth, Monk, I don't feel at home in the world anymore...

I LOVE Bojack Horseman!

Love any historical fiction, Ken Follett's books Pillars of the Earth and World Without End. The LOTR trilogy obviously and The Hobbit. Master and Commander. Not ashamed to say I love the Harry Potter books. Very much enjoy Bill Bryson. Umberto Eco's Travels in Hyperreality is brilliant but further attempts to read his stuff have failed. Jane Eyre. Emma Robert's books Slammerkin and The Woman Who Gave Birth to Rabbits. Dave Pelzer's "A Child Called It" books, I'll never forget. The Death of Grass is amazing. All Orwell! Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Spike Milligan, recently started exploring graphic novels starting with Joe Sacco's graphic non-fiction books.

Algo increíble que he hecho

Flew a plane. Did a skydive. Excavated with the Greater Angkor Project in Cambodia. Did paragliding in Slovenia. Climbed one of the smaller peaks of the Atlas Mountains, Morocco. Watched an uninterrupted sunset on a small island off the West coast of France called Molene. Climbed a palm tree in the Philippines. Swam in bio-luminescent water under a beautiful moon. Found the most amazing place and people in a little place called Norwich. Swam with turtles on a little Okinawan island.

Enseña, aprende, comparte

Can teach some Irish and about archaeology/the past. Other than this I have surprisingly little unique skills. Would love to learn anything from a language to how to cook.

Países que he visitado

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Países en los que he vivido

Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Únete a Couchsurfing para ver el perfil completo de Elizabeth. ¡Es gratis!

Mis grupos