Jing Li's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jing’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Grad student and instructor
  • working on my Ph.D degree
  • From Chuxiong, Yunnan, China
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Stay happily productive and do something new.

ABOUT ME

I'm from China and currently working on getting my Ph.D. degree in Economics. I live in Knoxville, Tennessee. I love being outdoor so Knoxville gets pretty close to the perfect destination, only if the beaches are closer by. :)

PHILOSOPHY

Do good.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Host whenever I can. Stayed with great hosts and hope to meet more.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm very busy with teaching and my research. I don't use CS as often as I'd like to, but I think CS is a wonderful idea and I try to contribute and get involved whenever I can. Why paying for hotels when you can use the money to travel more miles? One thing I don't like so much about CS is the pressure to be someone interesting. Yeah, the experience would be better if we happen to hit it off, but I'd like to think of it as giving and receiving kindness among fellow travellers. You are a traveller when you are not at home, regardless of how many places you've been.

So I don't mind if you "just need a place to stay". I don't mind you use my room as a hotel as long as you don't treat it like one. Of course, good conversations and time together would be lovely, but I don't expect them from you and hope you would not expect them from me as well. Sometimes life gets busy, and a couch and a hot bath maybe all I can offer. I'd be more than happy to host you if you can respect my privacy and property as I would yours.

Interests

Behavioral, experimental, and labor economics
Anything gets me moving. Biking, hiking, paddling, skiing, surfing, you name it.
Microadventures
Meet people from all walks of life
Learn

  • beer
  • coffee
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • economics
  • beaches
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Music. Anything I feel like dancing to or anything provoke an emotion. I'm very bad at remembering the names of the artists and the titles of their songs ... but I do remember Stromae and his Papaoutai never gets old to my ears.

Movies. Too many of them.

Books. Only have time to read textbooks and papers at the moment ... -__-"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Probably surviving grad school for this long ...

Teach, Learn, Share

About anything. Share good spirits! ^^

What I Can Share with Hosts

I live with 2 roommates (both girls) in an apartment of a reasonable size. We have a couch in the living room but I'd offer you my bed during your stay. I'll take the couch so we won't need to share the bedroom. For this reason plus my busy schedule, I can only host short stays (no more than 2 nights) and female travellers. I can host 1 or 2 surfers at the same time, and 2 only if you and your friend don't mind sharing the bed.

If you come during weekdays, I won't be able to spend much time showing you around the city but I'd love to get to know you over coffee, beers, or dinner whenever I find time. I camp, bike, hike, swim, paddle, or ski/snowboard during weekends, mostly in the TN side of the Smokies or closer-by state and local parks. So if you are looking to partake in similar activities, I'll be more helpful if you come during weekends.

Countries I’ve Visited

Myanmar

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jing’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups