James Rowley's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Special Needs Teacher
  • Degree in Media Studies, PGCE Teaching Diploma
  • From Ellington now Brixton
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to see every continent - and party in them all.

ABOUT ME

I love to travel and experience new cultures and food all over the world. I also live to party, particularly dance music but I can go out and have a good time anywhere, to any sort of music.

Other than travelling and clubbing I like to cook and I'm also into my fitness. I have to do a lot of sports because I like to eat a lot of food! Restaurants, dinner parties, home cooking, it is all good.

Did a couple of ski seasons as a chalet host, snowboarding in the Alps and had a blast - try and go back for a holiday every year. Tried wake boarding the other day and loved that so might take that up now.

I love watching films, weirder and darker the better, same with books.

I'm an open minded person and I am respectful of other people's opinions, even if I don't necessarily agree with them. If everyone was the same and thought the same way, the world would be a very boring place.

PHILOSOPHY

95% of human worries never amount to anything so why bother?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've hooked up with people in San Francisco, Mexico City and Vietnam through the couch surfing site.

Have hosted people from Berlin, Sao Paulo, Israel and Hungary in my flat in London.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A host showed me round San Francisco - had a great time seeing the city and having some beers in her local.

Stayed with a Vietnamese family in a rural village up in the north - was amazing. Anyone who goes near Sapa hook up with Mai - she will host anyone who wants a real homestay.

Stayed with a Mexican guy in Mexico city for three days, he was the best host. He drove us round, took us out partying and made our holiday really special.

Interests

Music, eating out, cooking, drinking, running, cycling, squash, watching sport, partying, clubbing, dancing, festivals, travelling, theatre, comedy, snowboarding, films,

  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • fitness
  • exercise
  • running
  • partying
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • music
  • dance music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • racquetball
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

Anything directed by Coen brothers, Ken Loach, Mike Leigh, Shane Meadows, obscure foreign films, comedies

Anything written by Irvine Welsh, Iain Banks or China Mieville.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skydived.

Sat in a car while a herd of elephants walked past the car a metre or two away from us.

Stayed in rural mountain village with a Vietnamese family.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Malta, Mexico, Mozambique, Namibia, Portugal, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Netherlands, Norway, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

My Groups