Johan Mahlum

Grand Forks, ND, USA

Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Johan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning German, Japanese, Latin, Russian, Taiwanese
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student and Political Activist
  • Currently in College
  • From Bismarck, ND, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Establish a job and a base of operations that will let me travel as much as possible. Other than that just trying to enjoy and invest the most out of the years of my youth.


I'm just finishing up degrees in Political Science and Chinese Studies from The University of North Dakota.

Before I started college I was also born and raised in the quasi-canadian state of North Dakota. Despite all of the underlooked natural beauty that can be found here for a few weeks every summer, I'm still always seeking out opportunities to travel elsewhere, experience new things, and meet people from all kinds of different backgrounds.

I began my limited international travel experience spending a year in Taiwan as an exchange student. Though I haven't gone to all that many countries after that (Canada?) I'm certainly hoping to get back abroad as soon as I finish my degree, likely teaching English in Asia (teaching is s passion of mine)

All in all, I'm just biding my time until greater opportunities become available to me, all the while enjoying my college experience and making strides towards the lifepath I want to pursue.


I believe adamantly that any two people from even the most different backgrounds and beliefs can find much more in common than they would ever have imagined. The trick is giving everyone a shot to tell their story. Friendship knows no bounds.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I haven't yet stayed at any place arranged through Couch Surfing, but I've definitely been hosted many times. The most exaggerated of these were the 6 host families I had in Taiwan where I stayed as long as 3 months in their houses. From there, I've traveled and been accommodated by great people from Ontario to New York to Minnesota to North Carolina to Delaware.


Languages,Cultures, Talking with Foreigners about their Beliefs and Values, Geography, Soccer, Cross Country, Plants, Camping, Caves, Trekking, Football, Reading, Practicing Writing, Politics, and Travel

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hope I always remember as well as I do now that passenger car jostling around cutting through the mountains of Taiwan. That particular journey I got the chance to converse at length with traveling Buddhist monk. We spoke about her religious beliefs, devotions, sacrifices, values, and joys. She spared no shred of interesting details about finding a balance between purpose and obligation. But, and I only realized this near the end, we had been having such an existential exchange but I hadn't had to slip into any english at all the entire time. This was the experience I had been looking for all year, and the whole year of pouring over Chinese books was worth just that one conversation and the insight it gave me on another person's life.

Also, while on a sailboat in Minnesota one summer, I saw a vicious battle between two male Bald Eagles.

Teach, Learn, Share

I aspire to be an English as a Second Language teacher abroad someday soon. I feel like I'm a really good Chinese teacher and a good tutor in general. I'm studying Political Science and I follow politics heavily and really enjoy talking about everything political with other open-minded people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I live in a duplex with 3 other male college roommates and anabundance of couches. I've gained a good expertise of the town since moving here and can name all the bars/restaurants and even where good deals are. Additionally, since I don't drink anymore, I am I GUARANTEED free sober cab! Can't get much better than that

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Japan, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Taiwan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Johan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups