Justin Martin's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.


  • 11 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • This is vague.
  • I know some things. I think.
  • From Lake Hopatcong, NJ
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To travel around the US in a van learning, exploring, and doing crafty things


I am traveling leather worker, book-binder, soap-maker and juggler. I have traveled in South America and Europe. I have worked as a science and math educator, wilderness guide, and back-country wilderness caretaker. I even served a few years in the US Army.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I generally don't bother looking for couches to sleep on as I tend to like my independence, but it is nice to join groups and communicate with other travelers and get a handle on what's happening locally.


Just good people.


I love learning and making things, meeting people, exploring and seeing live music.

  • books
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • teaching
  • mathematics
  • science
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Favorite kind is the kind I have never heard before. WFMU is the world's greatest radio station.

Books: How-to Books, Field Guides, and Mathematics

Movies: I don't do movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walked the Camino de Santiago across Spain in July '08; truly it is a unique and rewarding experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make soap!

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Albania, Argentina, Bolivia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Kenya, Netherlands, Peru, Romania, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Afghanistan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.

My Groups