Joanna J.'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joanna’s full profile.


  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2021
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hello! I am an American living in Massachusetts currently working on my PhD. I lived in the Netherlands for a year, where I worked as a student researcher at the university. I always have a travel bug and love to explore new places and cultures whenever I get the chance.

I was born and raised in the US, though I've spent many summers in China as my extended family all lives there.

Things that I love:
- being outdoors (hiking, running, rock climbing),
- playing sports (tennis, volley, and other games),
- cooking and baking,
- board games and card games (I can teach some fun ones),
- making art (pottery, painting, sculpture, recently got into printmaking),
- connecting with people over music and discovering new tunes :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love the friendly and adventurous community on CS. I solo traveled through Central Europe and stayed with many incredibly wonderful hosts who I now count among my friends. I think meeting locals is the best part of getting to know a new place. I like making each day an adventure, whether it's at home or abroad.

So far, I’ve couchsurfed in Iceland, Poland, Austria, Hungary, and Germany.


  • photography
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • tennis
  • art

Music, Movies, and Books

Interested in discovering international music. I gravitate towards folk, indie, 80s revival, house, techno, and synth.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love sharing meals and cooking. I would be happy to teach a few recipes of chinese/asian cuisines if you are interested!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Singapore, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Joanna’s full profile.