Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joao’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning German, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • History Academic
  • Faculty/University
  • From Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Connect to people from all over the world to better understand cultural differences in our societies

ABOUT ME

Although Brazilian by birth, I consider myself a citizen of the world, as I try see the world as a whole rather than consider wherever I am as the "center of the universe". Grew up in a small rural town in central Brazil, always thinking about seeing what else was out there. Moved to London when I was 20, where I met awesome people, learned new languages and cultures, but mostly learned that only by giving yourself an opportunity to travel, one can really understand the world and the people who inhabit it.

I worked in a large logistic company, but in September 2010, I've basically had enough of bullshit, gave my job the middle finger, got up my chair, and packed my stuff making my way back to Brazil.

Also in London, I've met my girlfriend, Patricia, from Germany, who lives with me.

PHILOSOPHY

I love the simple things in life, like talking to elderly, watching the stars, contemplating Mother Nature, go around town driving about listening to my favorite musics, having a beer or two in a corner bar, discuss anything interesting. I usually feel closer the the poorer, but mostly, I like to talk to people with whom I can learn something from. I absolutely fucking hate impunity. I've got a lot of respect for all professions, specially craftsman work like carpentry, building, artists, musicians. I hate injustice, prejudice, and excessive materialism. Don't follow religion but respect others, and I believe in a strong force that connect humans with all living things. I like to give when possible. I treat people with respect and expect the same. I like all animals, but when it comes down to food, I am no vegetarian, so I also love meat. And beer!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host and would like to surf whenever needed. I own a house, with a spare bedroom that can be yours for a short time.I live in a rural town, where very few foreigners would dare to come, do you have the guts? Would like to open my house to people who want to experience a Brazil they don't see on TV. By the way we have a dog and a cat, they are harmless.

I am currently living in Algarve, Portugal, where I am studying Sociology. In August I am due back in my second home, in London.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Have hosted many people in my house, including a Russian girl Natasha, who stayed for 10 days. New and old friends are always welcome to stay with us, we also hosted an american, Sergio Sebastian, and also, a bolivian, Dr.Christian Calvo, all of whom, have become life friends. In between them , we've seen exotic animals in the wild, like the tamanduá, beautiful Cerrado Landscapes, took a swin in gorgeous waterfalls and lagoons, had fun times in the local night club, few beers in many of the local bars, met really simple people, who have been extremely nice to meet us, inviting us in, offering us food and refreshments, all of which, making the experience unforgettable.

Interests

Professional: Architecture, Landscaping, Civil Engineering, Politics.
Educational: History, Languages, Green Initiatives, Environmental Issues, cultures
Personal: Music, Football, Premier League, playing football, Documentary making, photography

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • books
  • architecture
  • photography
  • documentaries
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • vegetarian
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • politics
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • soccer
  • engineering
  • genealogy
  • history
  • languages
  • religion
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

Iron Maiden, Guns, Metallica, Red Hot, U2, Seu Jorge, Engenheiros do Hawaii, Capital Inicial, Legiao Urbana

My TV tastes resumes in one word: Seinfeld.

Paulo Coelho, Dan Brown are good modern writers, and I also like to study classics from Dickens, Camoes, Pessoa.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Discovering my family tree back to 1785 and the history of my surname back to the year 1089, made a dossier, and compelled it in a family book for future generations. I guess that was cool.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like the concept of "to know the truth". I like to learn about everything, and I like to share my own opinions about the relationship between man and its next, and by doing so, hopefully we can relate our cultures to one another perhaps copy the good from one another and use in our own environment. Lets sit have a drink and make knowledge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music. History. Cooking. Good company.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, England, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, England, Portugal, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Joao’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups