Dharanidharan Ramamurthy's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dharanidharan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Bengali, Bangla, English, Hindi, Tamil; learning French, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Grad Student
  • MSc in Molecular Biology
  • From Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

I grew up in very different big cities: Chennai, Calcutta and Tokyo. I have jumped between the first two a few times, spent a few months working in the US before starting grad school in Singapore. I'm now a student who's currently working to finish a PhD degree in Microbiology while teaching undergrads as well. When I'm not in the lab, I would most likely be outdoors in a beach or some field throwing a disc with a bunch of friends and working up a good sweat.

I love to cook in the hopes of getting better at it, take long walks, explore new places, plan a trip and hopefully still find some time to catch the next good show on TV or the awesome new movie that just came out.

Currently not in a place where I can host people since I'm living in student accommodation on campus. But if you are dropping by Singapore and need someone who can help you around the place, grab food or get a drink with I can certainly help out with that.

P.S- I will try to work something out if you're a friend or if I know you personally.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For the most part I've had a sheltered and comfortable life in big cities and after starting to live on my own, I've been fortunate enough to build one where I don't feel the need to rely on people too much to go about my day. Sadly falling into this trap does mean that it's slightly monotonous and deprives me to get to experience things that are out of my comfort zone or gain fresh a perspective of things from someone who's had very different experiences than I have.

Among the few things I take pride in, being a good host is one of them. Having been able to share a roof with some close friends who have come to visit, and having conversations while sharing a meal, going around the city or even just catching a movie together on a lazy afternoon has been one of my fondest memories of their time with me. Which brings me here! Having heard some great things over the years about the community I’m giving this a try in the hope that I get to meet some wonderful people in the process. I love listening to people, their stories, experiences, what make them happy, their thoughts on stuff and the likes. Why? Because for the most part I think people are awesome and the world is a better place when people share stuff. Besides we're all influenced by the people around us and I wish to surround myself with people who can be a positive influence. Whatever way it may be. If you’re on the look for someone willing to share a clean space in a small island city, feel free to reach out =)

When I’m out travelling, I like to be methodical, well planned and organized; it’s probably the sciency guy in me. But being a person who’s open to new stuff, I’m also completely fine with just winging it and going where the wind takes me. While I do have my likes and dislikes, I’m not a very fussy person and will probably be happy with the smallest space you have to offer. All I can say is I’ll be respectful of your space, and would be more than happy to help you out with stuff if you need an extra hand.

Interests

  • hiking
  • biology
  • pizza
  • ultimate frisbee
  • vegetarian cooking
  • ice cream
  • nature conservation

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm have a very open taste in music and usually up for anything that sounds good, but the easiest way you could get me would be either through classic rock or '80s-'90s era hip-hop which would be my go to music.

Movies- Again, really open about it. Not the greatest fan of the romance genre though.

Books- A little sad to say haven't had the luxury of being a books guy for a while, thanks to few other stuff taking higher priority and a shortening attention span (thanks internet). But maybe there's just the book out there that can get me back into reading and hopefully I get my hands on it soon.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Picked up Ultimate- I've never had much experience playing team sports, except for some occasional football (soccer) or cricket as a kid. But after moving to Singapore I joined a pickup game on my campus one night. 4 years later I'm playing the sport competitively now, met some amazing people, made a tonne of new friends in the process and have got to combine my love for travel and the sport multiple times.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach you how to throw a disc or how to play ultimate (if you don't already know), show you how to cook using nothing but a microwave, share a great bowl of signature pasta and if I like you I'll probably share my bag of chips or popcorn too =)

Alternatively if you have something interesting going on, I'm up for that too. What do you want to do?

What I Can Share with Hosts

A couch, some great tv shows, movies, ice cream, my favorite pizza spot in town and friendly banter.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Singapore, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dharanidharan’s full profile. It’s free!