Logo orange

Joe Flanagan

Honolulu, Hawaii, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 14 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • freelance production technician
  • BBA and Production Degree
  • From Gainesville, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Getting back into the routine of things.

ABOUT ME

LAST UPDATE: August 19, 2010

Hi. My name is Joe. Although I'm in my 30's now, I still feel like I'm in my 20's. I'm enjoying life and seeing what all this world has to offer. I got bit by the travel bug my senior year in college when I went to Europe for a study abroad program. Ever since, travel has been a big part of my life.

I'm originally from Texas. I attended a university nearby my hometown where I earned a business degree in finance. Later in life, I lived in Orlando, FL for a year where I attended an entertainment school and earned a degree in live productions.

Now that I've earned two degrees, I've been traveling cross-country working as a freelance production technician for live concerts, sporting events, and other shows. I work behind-the-scenes setting up audio, video, and lighting. I've been in New Mexico, Arizona, and California so far. Now I'm back in New Mexico, and traveling when I can.

I also maintain my own travel blog. It records all of my trips and I also try to make it a resource of useful information to the fellow traveler. Feel free to check it out: http://joeflanagan.wordpress.com

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

So far, I've only surfed other peoples couches. But it's been great, all my hosts have been very hospitable. I would love to return the favor whenever I can. Even if I'm not able to provide a couch, maybe I can show you around the city or meet for coffee or dinner or something.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I began couchsurfing in early 2008. It's been awesome so far. I feel this is another avenue of making some long-time friends. I feel like I'm part of the community where I'm staying, instead of a tourist or an outsider.

Interests

Traveling, of course!! Ha Ha!!

I like being outdoors, hiking and backpacking, the beach, and just seeing new places. I like going to the movies and hanging out with friends and just having a good time.

Other things I like to do but don't really do that often... horseback riding, and playing tennis.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I went skydiving in Texas. I traveled Europe for the first time. Got to work at the 2008 SuperBowl in Arizona. I saw the Grand Canyon. And I went gliding over the northshore of Oahu.

(I can't limit this to just "one" amazing thing. I plan to add more in the future.)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a numbers guy. Algebra was my favorite subject in high school. :-) I have a degree in finance, and enjoy sharing my personal knowledge about money management and budgeting.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Joe's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile