Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see JOELJALAN’s full profile.


  • 30 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Indonesian, Japanese; learning Arabic, Chinese, Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Engineer
  • master degree in engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Early retirement!


Traveling, watching movies and going to events, are things I enjoy the most.
Traveling is exciting cause I can meet new people, experience new cultures, new places, and dancing makes me forget about difficulties in life :p
Enjoying also spending nice easy time with nice people, not good at socializing though...

I consider myself as a quiet person (some friends don't think so), easy going, down to earth, polite, sensitive, not very smart though... very emotional, easy to get moved by movies...

Born in Indonesia, educated and lived in Japan since 1995, worked in an engineering company in Japan, then moved to work in a company in Qatar since 2024.

Been to more than 100 countries and territories, still trying to visit as many places, and meet as many people as I can.

Couchsurfing is interesting cause I can interact with local people and see local lives...
My blog:
Facebook: Joel Jalan


enjoy life ...
as much as I can, to be meaningful for others...
to live my life at the maximum extent...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


an Iranian told me about this wonderful site...


Been surfing with nice boys and girls in Sao Paulo, Addis Ababa, Budapest, Bratislava, Prague, Miami, Santiago de Chile, Mexico City, Quito, Guayaquil, Honduras.


Travel, Dance, Movie, Music, Book, Event, Musical, Photography
Currently watching too many movies...

  • traveling
  • socializing
  • travel
  • traveling around the world
  • traveling the world
  • traveling and meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Movie: Superhero ones (X-Men), or Animation (Up, Shrek, Inside Out, Zootopia, Trolls), or ones made me moved, laugh, thrilled at the same time (Real Steel), Bollywood movies for their great dance scenes and beautiful actors :)
Music: Slow (songs written by Diane Warren), R&B, Latin (Enrique Iglesias, Gloria Estefan), Disco (Kylie Minogue, Usher, Whitney Houston, Jessie J)
Books: Alchemist (Paolo Coelho), Kite Runner

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- organized festivals during my school times
- lived in Taipei, then visited places around Taiwan, met nice people, enjoyed beautiful places
- the vast white space in Uyuni Lake, Bolivia
- friendliness of people in Iran and Syria, the said the Axes of Evil
- top of Kilimanjaro 5895m
- trekking the variety amazing landscapes of Torres del Paine, Chile
- meeting a gorilla family in Virunga Mountain, Rwanda
- safari in Kenya and Tanzania
- trekking Ciudad Perdida jungle in Colombia
- zip lining in Costa Rica
- watching Northern Lights in Tromso, Norway

Teach, Learn, Share

Seriously, I am a bit embarrassed to say that I have not much to teach... :(
Maybe I can share my travel experience, or teach Indonesian and Japanese?!
Dance: Asereje, Macarena, Jaiho, Love on Top, Judas, Uptown Funk, 姐姐, あげあげダンス :p

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel experience, information on Japan, Indonesia and Qatar.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Georgia, Hungary, Iran, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Puerto Rico, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States, Yemen

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Japan, Qatar, Taiwan

Join Couchsurfing to see JOELJALAN’s full profile.

My Groups