JoEllen Marsh's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 68% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see JoEllen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 34 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Morocco), Arabic (North Levantine)
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Harm Reduction
  • M.P.A.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm currently only accepting last-minute requests. If you're still looking for a place on the day you plan to get here or a couple of days before, feel free to send me a request. My schedule is kind of unpredictable, and I will only be able to give you a firm yes or no if you request last-minute.

I've been hosting and occasionally surfing on-and-off for 10+ years, and I'm just getting back into hosting now that we're moved into our beautiful new house and COVID rates are lower.

COVID note: We are both vaccinated and boosted. We don't require that you be vaccinated, but please don't come if you have covid symptoms.

My partner Kris and I live in Pittsburgh with our growing menagerie. In addition to 2 cats and our sweet German Shepherd, our little urban farm now has 2 goats, 3 chickens and bees! We can give you a tour and introduce you to the outdoor animals if you want (don't worry - the hives are not near the house, and honey bees are incredibly docile anyway).

We're happy to host individuals, couples, groups, families with kids, etc. I prefer to host for 1-2 nights. I'm queer and our house is LGBTQ+ friendly. Kris and I both have ADHD and we're happy to host other neurodivergent people.

I work in harm reduction/drug policy and I love teaching and community organizing. I spent a year in Jordan, a summer in Morocco and did some other traveling while I was abroad. I'd love to go explore more of the world. I can have fun in most situations, but I tend to go out and explore local bars, restaurants and music, go hiking and do things outdoors, connect with people over coffee, play board games and study languages. I'm part of the regional burn community in Pittsburgh.

Our house is 10 minutes from downtown, 20 minutes from the airport, and 15-25 minutes from Lawrenceville, the Southside and other fun neighborhoods. If we're available, we can pick you up from the Sheraden busway stop (the 28X bus to/from the airport stops here) or the bus station/train station downtown.

PHILOSOPHY

Meaningful connections with other human beings are some of the most important things in my life. I aim to find balance and embrace the opportunities I have to see the world and learn from other people. I seek out situations that challenge me and force me to reconsider my own ways of looking at the world.

Growing up in a supportive non-traditional family gave me the confidence to pursue ways of living that work best for me, even if they go against the norm; I hope that all people can feel comfortable enough in themselves to do what makes them happy and to be accepting of others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfing, hosting, and meeting interesting people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I spent a week in Cyprus with four great hosts, and I hosted and met up with the CS group in Amman when I lived there. I was happily surprised to have a lot of couchsurfers stay with me in Erie, and I've hosted in Pittsburgh off and on when I have the space.

Interests

Aerial arts, hiking, board games, yoga, reading, dancing, camping, community advocacy and organizing.

  • dancing
  • dining
  • beer
  • yoga
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • languages
  • road trips
  • last minute travel
  • tea
  • aerial arts

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I met my biological father (sperm donor) for the first time on a beach in California. Then a few years later, I met 8 of my half-siblings in one weekend.

Teach, Learn, Share

Happy to do short trainings or chat about about overdose response, harm reduction, and community engagement methods. I can teach you some Arabic. I love to learn about people and hear their stories.

We have hundreds of board games, and my partner is really good at teaching rules and introducing people to new games.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Germany, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Palestine, Puerto Rico, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Jordan, Morocco, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see JoEllen’s full profile.

My Groups