Joeri Zwerts's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joeri’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 41 References 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • PhD student at Utrecht University
  • Forest and nature conservation MSc on Wageningen Universi...
  • From Eindhoven, North Brabant, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Don't worry, Be happy

ABOUT ME

Travel off the beaten track, hitchhiking, partying, reading, music. I'm a very open minded person and always up for a some crazy plans, a good philosophical conversation or a good party.

Not afraid of an adventure, experimenting, hiking, being out in nature and I always want to know what's on the other side of the hill..

PHILOSOPHY

Try new things as much as possible!! But I'm not sure whether this is actually a philosophy or something else?

IMPORTANT:

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The best way to visit a an unknown city is with people that live there, it changes the entire experience as it makes you (almost;) one of them rather then just a sightseeing tourist.

Interests

Living the life

  • fish
  • beer
  • partying
  • motorcycles
  • reading
  • traveling
  • survival
  • music
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • track and field
  • tourism
  • hitchhiking
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

If I'd had to choose one Bob Dylan would be my favorite artist, but I kind of like everything from all kinds of different folk music to reggae, deep house, rock, psytrance, techno, dub step and classical music.

Books, a lot of them.. Shantaram was a great book to read, but I very much like the classics as well. I liked Tolstoy's Anna Karenina a lot although I hardly ever met someone who agrees with me on that one.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've done a lot of weird things and I want to do a lot more but if I'd had to pick one it would be buying a horse in western Mongolia without any horse riding experience and doing a 4 week long trek with it.

Another one I really liked was going into the Surinamese jungle with only a machete and a fishing net to build a raft and travel 9 days by river to get out of the jungle again:)

Or last but not least, it could also be buying a motorbike in Beijing without any driving experience, teaching myself how to drive a motorcycle and tour around china for 3 months.

There are some other things though but the real good stories come with a beer or a spliff so you'd have to meet me for that.

Teach, Learn, Share

Although I have quite some experience with it, I want to learn more bush craft and survival skills! I want to fish, hunt, hike, camp at the most beautiful spots near your place!! I also want to learn Spanish.
I can teach you how to travel off the beaten track or how to have a good party:)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a laid back dude, but I don't like playing the tourist guide and I prefer to continue my own life as much as possible when I have surfers because otherwise hosting takes too much energy. So please, even though it sounds a bit grumpy to put it this way, if you're not very independent and don't like this way of couchsurfing, don't request to stay at my place..

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Chile, China, Congo, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Finland, France, French Guiana, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cameroon, France, Netherlands, South Africa, Suriname

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Joeri’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups