Johannes Mende's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Johannes’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Dutch, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student/Traveller
  • BSc in Applied Physics
  • From Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hi you,
Nice to finally meet you, or at least give you a chance to get to know me a bit better before we meet in person :)

So let me tell you a little bit something about my current trip. I've been an avid traveller for my whole life and am currently exploring South America with a friend from Germany. We started our trip in La Paz and want to make it to Nicaragua by August. It's a pretty long journey and we'll experience a great variety of people, landscapes and cultures, which we are really looking forward to. At times we'll split up and do our own thing, but we will probably spend most of our time together. Lots of our time will be spent at the beach searching for the perfect wave.

You might wonder how I can simply take four months off to bum around South America. Fair question! I recently finished my Bachelor of Science in Sydney, Australia, and am taking some time off before I commence my Masters in Utrecht, Netherlands, in August. After having lived close to a beach for the past five years, it's understandable that I picked South America with it's enormous coast line for my big adventure. Amazing surf breaks are also not a rarity along this coast, which is ideal for a surf addict like me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love experiencing local people and cultures when visiting a new country. Staying in hostels though gives you less of a chance to be one with the locals. Staying with or simply meeting up for an afternoon with a local can give you a completely different view on a city or culture.

Of course having a local surfer show you around the best surf spots is the dream of every travelling surfer too.

Interests

- Traveling and making new friends
- All kinds of outdoor sports. I have experience with: surfing, rock climbing, canyoning, hiking, cycling, slack lining, scuba diving, kayaking, wake boarding, snowboarding among others. But I am always keen to discover new sports.
- Cooking, baking, and eating of course!
- Photography
- Science, especially physics
- Entrepreneurship
- Music
- 3D modelling and printing

  • culture
  • photography
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • baking
  • instructor
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • entrepreneurship
  • physics
  • science
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to a wide variety of music, but mostly to: Funk jazz, electro / minimal, chill out / trip hop, reggae, hip hop.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've experienced too many amazing things that I don't want to single one out here. However I'd be more than happy to share some stories about my travels with you when we meet :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I would be more than happy to pass on some of my knowledge and experience to you! I could teach you how to surf, after being a surf instructor for several years, or help you understand more about physics, which is what I study. Maybe we can find a slack line and I can help you do your first steps on it.

I also love cooking and am always keen to learn new recipes and share my favorite dishes with you. I've learned how to chop rather quickly, to be able to cook big meals for all my friends. I'd be happy to show you some tricks to become a quick vegetable chopper too. The first step I can already tell you: I'll sharpen your knives for you ;)

I have just started learning Spanish and would love to get some help to improve it, while I can help you with your German or English.

In general I am very open to new experiences and am always happy to get out there and see what I can learn from you.

What I Can Share with Hosts

There are many things to share with a host. My favourite things would be to share a laugh, share a wave, share a meal and anything else that makes us happy.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Johannes’s full profile. It’s free!