John D's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Bridge Operator
  • Monmouth University - 2017 B.S Business Admin.
  • From Point Pleasant Beach, NJ, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

About me... about me? Well for starters I'm from a shore town in central New Jersey (U.S.A). I've had opportunity to live and study in London for several months and ended up traveling to eleven countries during my time there. I was able to forge a wide variety of friendships during my travels which I still keep up to this day.

Personality wise- I'm not shy, I'd rather immerse myself in the culture I'm in than just say I went to a place. I believe there's a fine line between vacation and traveling.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Figured it'd be a good way to meet a variety of people & to find easier accesses to the local culture. My main belief is you have to get yourself dirty if you are to do anything memorable, that requires pushing boundaries and comforts.

Interests

Surfing: I'm from a shore town & own a surfboard which I periodically use. The water is best around mid August to September.

Videogames: I don't exactly play that much anymore but I've always had a strong interest when it came to dynamic storytelling and style.

Writing: I write short stories & poetry during my free time. My one regret is that I should've kept a journal when I traveled Europe.

  • writing
  • surfing
  • videogames

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm working through Tolstoy's War & Peace, Hemingway's To Whom the Bell Tolls, and Glukhovsky's Metro 2033 right now. Paging through pocket editions of Hemingway, Ginsberg, and compendiums of music lyrics when I'm killing time.

Music (♫ ♪ ♫ My Favourite Albums ♪ ♫ ♪)
http://i.imgur.com/Kgy8MzE.jpg

My music interests are varied and diverse but I've always held the oldies, jazz & blues, ska, classic rock, and indie rock in high regard. When I was in London and New Orleans I'd often frequent Jazz bars and shows. I've been to Firefly 2015 & Warped Tour 2016.

I'm a sucker for westerns, sci-fi-fantasy, dramas, historical films (Esp. revolving around World Wars), and noir. Cheesy films also make me laugh. A musical here and there also helps.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I got to speak to people who spoke a tongue foreign to me, their culture and history indefinite, the great unknown to someone from a country divided by two oceans. I was touched most by this. I could climb a mountain, go to space, but such things always exist. The moment in which I share with someone else is finite and will eventually be erased by history.

Teach, Learn, Share

This is what happens when you don't use Couchsurfer often and you need to renovate your profile from 2015!

What I Can Share with Hosts

- I feel it customary to bring something to offer as a gift (I.e - bottle of wine, something from my home, etc etc) if I am offered a place to stay.
- I'll bring someone who takes an interest in your every day life & perceptions on society. I share my thoughts in return.
- I'll bring someone you can go out with. I like to share my good times & interests.
- The most important thing I bring is a considerate guest, a shared mutual understanding.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Serbia, Spain, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.