John Griffith's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Graphic Designer
  • BFA at Biola Univerisity
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

My name is John, but I usually go by my last name as "Griff." I've met too many other Johns, or Jonathans, and pretty much just got tired of going by that name.

I grew up in Singapore as a missionary kid, so I've had the opportunity to travel to lots of different countries in Asia, including Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, China, India, Thailand, and Vietnam. I just recently started visiting Europe, includeing Iceland and Spain. I'd love to do more.

I'm a graphic designer living in Redlands, California in the US. I've lived in a handful of places in the US, such as Washington, Colorado, California, and Montana, but I'm also equally eager to go somewhere new somewhere else in the US.

I am a determined independent man, but also very easy-going. I like to call myself a "roller" because I'll just roll with or without a plan, doesn't matter to me. I love sharing/hearing stories from people, but I'm also comfortable being on my own. I like to think of myself as a sociable introvert.

When I was a kid, my family hosted lots of guests, many of whom I didn't know before. So I know that when I stay at other people's homes, it's a privilege to be their guest. I'm always as polite as possible, so I'll always clean up after myself, and I'll never overstay my welcome. If you ever need help, I'm willing to serve in whatever way possible.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love traveling and meeting new people, and I also like to take road trips. I'm eager to get connected to the Couchsurfing community and meet all kinds of amazing people with amazing stories. I love both domestic and international travel, and I'm excited to continue building my network of friends all over the world.


Backpacking, Adventuring, Traveling, Hiking, Rock Climbing, Art, Alternative Music, Design, Photography

  • arts
  • culture
  • design
  • photography
  • dining
  • traveling
  • music
  • alternative music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • rock climbing
  • history
  • science
  • road trips

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't really have specific favorites, more like favorite genres:

Favorite Music genre: Alternative Rock/Folk
(Ex. (I could go forever on this one) Foals, Typhoon, London Grammar, The Dodos, Andrew Belle, Chvrches, Blind Pilot, Sea Wolf, etc., etc.)

Favorite Movie/TV genres: Action, Documentaries, Dramas
(Ex. Mad Max, The Long Way Round, Game of Thrones)

Favorite Book Genre: Fantasy novels
(Ex. Harry Potter, His Dark Inheritance Series)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A front-flip off of a 30 ft cliff-dive

Teach, Learn, Share

I like…
Teaching: Singaporean culture, the Adobe Creative Suite
Learning: Language, Science, History
Sharing: Stories, Friends

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good company and good conversation. I'll pay for my own food, and never overstay my welcome.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, China, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, New Zealand, Philippines, Spain, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Singapore, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!