John Lau's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 26 References 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning French
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Undergraduate
  • LLB Hons
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Backpack in Europe

ABOUT ME

Live your life the way you want it to be, because life is short. I choose the path less taken and I've not looked back since. There are so many things that we should be appreciative of in life, and I live every moment with that thought. The world is huge but we'll never get to see it all, so live the moment and seize the day.

My friends' description of me would be sporty, fun-loving yet serious when necessary, good at finding value in things, and I really love to eat (current Michelin star count - six). I'm going to start learning how to cook once I live overseas on my own, and maybe learn it from fellow couchsurfers.

I'm also a football fanatic, proud supporter of Manchester United.
Other than that, I enjoy watching movies and listening to music. Also, I've always been thinking of starting my own business because I prefer exciting/hands-on stuff rather than just mundane work at a desk. I love having my camera with me and just taking pictures, still got a lot to learn in terms of post-editing of pictures.

My dream is to travel to more places to meet more people, understanding different ways of life from different people, and viewing things from a different perspective. I guess travelling can provide you with insights which make you think deeper, finding your true self and worth.

PHILOSOPHY

Treat others the way how you wish others would treat you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By sharing my culture and what I know about my country through my experiences and travels.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm still new to couchsurfing so maybe I'll update this section once I'm seasoned.

Interests

Mainly football but any other type of sports are fine as well, having fun, learning new languages, meeting new people and enjoying quality time together understanding each other's culture.

  • culture
  • beauty
  • cooking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • business
  • languages
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

Inception

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lived in Rockhampton, Queensland for 4 months out in a campsite with basic necessities and internet.

Experienced Thailand in a unique way, living in a less developed rural area and having meals as cheap as USD 0.50

Been to Prague after a Dragonboat Competition and marvelled at its beauty.

Climbing Mount Ophir in Malaysia.

Fulfilled my dream of watching Manchester United at Old Trafford!

Been to Vincente Calderon, Santiago Bernabeu and Camp Nou!

Covered the WWII trail in Berlin.

Visited the Auschwitz Concentration Camp.

Skiing in La Plagne (Alps), France!

Desert trekking in Western Sahara!

Skydived in Zadar, Croatia!

What I Can Share with Hosts

The cities I've been to:

Dubrovnik | Kotor | Split | Hvar | Vis | Krka | Zadar | Plitvice Lakes | Ljubljana | Venice | Burano | Murano | Cinque Terre | Porto Venere | Pisa | Florence | Rome | Ostia Antica | Oslo | Stavanger | Kjerag | Reykjavik | Vik | Höfn | Malta | Vilnius | Tallinn | Helsinki | Riga | Lisbon | Sintra | Porto | Eindhoven | Rotterdam | Kinderdijk | Amsterdam

Marrakech | Western Sahara | Fez | Hamburg | Berlin | Warsaw | Krakow | London | Copenhagen | Malmo | Paris | Bruges | Brussels | Glasgow | Edinburgh | Snowdonia

Manchester | Bath | Bristol | York | Nottingham | Liverpool | Lake District | Peak District | La Plagne | Budapest | Bratislava | Vienna | Brno | Prague | Malaga | Granada | Seville | Madrid | Toledo | Barcelona

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Singapore, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!