john explorer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see john’s full profile.


  • 36 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Sign Language - American; learning Arabic, Burmese, French, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • University
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm an adventurous globetrotter on a mission to explore the world without breaking the bank. If you're looking for a friendly and slightly quirky travel companion, you've found the right person. I have a passion for quality and affordable food that knows no bounds. From Chinese and Malay cuisine to Indian, Peranakan, Spanish, French, Arabic, and even vegetarian delights, I'm always up for a culinary adventure. My favorites include oyster omelette, hokkien prawn mee, charcoal BBQ chicken wings, frog porridge, herbal mutton soup, and papaya salad. I take food seriously, except when it's contaminated with the dreaded 💩. Trust me, I'll devour whatever the locals eat, and while I've never suffered a fatal food poisoning incident, I once endured a month long battle with tummy troubles.

I'm as easygoing as they come, having finished two years of military conscription, so anywhere can be my cozy shelter. I also am not part of the woke Gen Z crowd. I am a pragmatist and I like to share. I happen to know Singapore like the back of my hand, from the well-known tourist spots to the hidden gems. I've traversed every corner of the city-state, including its islands and neighboring Johor Bahru in Malaysia. If you let me be your guide, I'll show you a side of Singapore that even locals may not be aware of. Trekking and cycling enthusiasts will especially appreciate my recommendations for scenic routes. If time permits, I can even chauffeur you around Singapore or take you on a ride up to Malaysia.

When it comes to travel style, I'm all about quick planning, extreme flexibility, and minimal packing. My essentials include two t-shirts, a pair of shorts, a towel, earphones, an inflatable neck rest, a blindfold, a power bank, a sleeping bag, and a brightly colored three-piece underwear set for easy spotting. Can't leave those behind!

I've honed my cheapskate Asian instincts for scoring great deals. I love visiting trade and food fairs, where I shamelessly ask for free samples or snag heavily discounted items that can fit into my trusty backpack. I once bought a large standing fan and a bicycle at a fair because the prices were too good to resist—perfect for my gracious hosts.

I'm also fascinated by different modes of transportation and have used various transport options to get around, including but not limited to motorcycles, cars, vans, sailboats, electric bicycles, scooters, skateboards, and regular bicycles. Efficiency is key!

The "4-Hour Workweek" is my jam, as I firmly believe in achieving early financial freedom, minimizing expenses, and embracing a vagabonding lifestyle. In fact, I've been decluttering and selling my belongings for the past six years, and I haven't bought new clothes during that time.

One of my greatest joys is learning about new cultures, challenging my own preconceptions, and immersing myself in the local way of life. When in Rome, do as the Romans do. I frequently participate in English meetup events abroad and occasionally offer my teaching skills in exchange for food and accommodation.

I consider myself a travel hacker. I am always down for all sorts of events, attractions, local weddings, and various cultural gatherings. From F1 racing events, music festivals, beer fests to football matches to countdown parties, amusement parks, exhibitions, conferences, comedy gigs, local weddings, hunting trips, religious gatherings.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To see the world from a local's perspective.
Travel on a shoestring.
Celebrate international friendship day.


Good food
Watching TV

  • arts
  • culture
  • education
  • dining
  • meditation
  • technology
  • movies
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • sports
  • martial arts
  • teaching
  • entrepreneurship
  • history
  • sign language
  • volunteering
  • solo travel

Music, Movies, and Books

favourite books: 5 people you meet in Heaven- M.A., Adventure Capitalist- Jim Rogers, The world is flat- Tom Friedman
Favourite shows: Family guy, Prison Break series, Suits, Narcos, legend of condor heros, journey to the west, Black mirror, breaking bad, the walking dead, friends and many Asian dramas
Favourite movies: All sorts
Favourite music: All sorts. Grew up listening to alot of mandopop- Jay Chou & FIR
Favourite movie stars: Stephen Chow, Sacha baron conen, Donnie yen, Jason Statham

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Finding goodness in humanity.
Travelling and meeting new people.
Save money.
Usually travel for months straight to get the best value from my air ticket
Lived in the moment.

Teach, Learn, Share

Discovery of new places, sights and food.
Amusement parks, local streets, museums and public transport infrastructure
Linguistics and my insights into learning several different languages

What I Can Share with Hosts

Language lessons in English/Mandarin Chinese/ ASL
A good conversation and culture exchange
Singapore stories
Singapore food
My cooking, work-in-progress.
Travel partner & Food Buddy
I bring gifts from Singapore or around the world. I usually have something I found or receive along the way
I occasionally treat my guests to good food
Trademark Singapore nature and food tour on escooter or bicycle.
Host in Singapore

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Myanmar, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Laos, Malaysia, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see john’s full profile.