John Rockford's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 78% response rate
  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Poet, tinkerer
  • Enough to get by
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a music maker and dreamer of dreams. I love to share poetry and song, delicious food, tea and coffee, and great conversation. I'm deeply curious about life and its oddities.

I spend a lot of my time reading and writing. I also play drums and guitar, dance, recite poetry, do yoga, read tarot cards, lift weights, and play squash. I love go for long drives and long hikes, swim in the ocean, and watch the clouds and the stars. I like to collect books, tattoos, and stories.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to meet people and make meaningful connections, and I'm happy to host and stay with folks of all sorts. I'd especially enjoy the opportunity to practice my French and Spanish language skills. Opportunities to travel have opened up through my work and personal relationships and I'm excited to go exploring, make new friends all over the globe, and learn more about people, places, ideas, cultures.

I want to meet people who are passionate about something and excited to share their skills and ideas. I think we could all learn something from each other about how to live better, not only from a self-satisfaction perspective, but as a community, as fellow humans.

A note to potential surfers: my work sometimes takes me out of cell phone/internet range for days or weeks at a time. I apologize if I am unable to answer your message promptly. I'm happy to receive last minute requests, but I'm much likelier to host you if you get in touch at least a couple weeks ahead of time.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: if it's composed and performed my talented, passionate people, I'm probably into it. I love everything from the grimiest death metal to the poppiest disco, as long as it's not boring.

Movies: I have an entire sleeve of tattoos based on imagery from The Matrix. I'm not much of a movie buff, but I like sci-fi and supernatural horror.

Books: I love to read! Few things in life give me greater pleasure. I like short stories and poetry best. I also like to read history, biographies, and horror, sci-fi or fantasy novels with imaginative world-building. Please recommend me a book!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I visited Oaxaca, Mexico during la Dia de Muertos celebrations and spent 10 glorious days wandering the city, meeting people, sampling the local cuisine, visiting the cemeteries, churches, and art galleries.

I recently published my first book, which has given me great confidence to write another one!

I saw one of my all-time favourite bands play in an ancient Roman amphitheatre in southern France.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach: English language - reading, writing, speaking; drums and guitar. I know how to fix most kinds of electronic and mechanical things.

I'd love to learn: French, Spanish, German; other ethnic cuisines; botany and biology; folklore and magic, politics, history and traditions from the homelands of my guests and hosts.

I like to share: meals and music, good conversation, ideas and practical skills for living and thriving.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm always happy to contribute to the chores and the cooking when I'm a guest. I can make a meal for you, water the plants, dust the shelves, mop the floors. I'm always keen on a good conversation over a cup of tea or coffee, or a game of chess. I’d love to accompany you on a hike, a nature walk, a tour of your favourite gallery or museum, a bike ride, or out to see some live music.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.