John Timmins's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Oil and Gas
  • Red Seal Rig Technician
  • From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

30 year old guy, living downtown Vancouver. I've been working in Oil and Gas for 10 years now. I'm down to earth, easy going and open minded. I like learning, exploring and experiencing situations and lifestyles that are different than my own. I think stepping outside of my comfort zone is important for my self development and growth. I ultimately want to become a well rounded person full of unique experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As I said, I've been in oil and gas for 10 years now. I've been planning to take my motorcycle from Vancouver B.C. to the tip of Chile for a few years. Recently opportunities have arisen making this trip a possibility. Couchsurfing seems like a great opportunity to meet like minded people and hopefully enrich the whole experience.

Interests

Dancing, Yoga, Reading, Shooting Guns and Archery, Riding and tinkering with Motorcycles, Cooking, Hiking, and just about anything active and outdoors.

  • dancing
  • environment
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • drinking
  • motorcycles
  • reading
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • archery

Music, Movies, and Books

I like most types of music, my tastes shift and change depending what style of dance I'm exploring.
I enjoyed the book The Orenda, which is historical fiction. I tend to gravitate towards books of a philosophical nature that challenge my understanding of the world.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've worked on drilling rigs for 10 years in a grueling environment. I've worked long hours for weeks at a time, pushed through temperatures as low as -58 C and high as 48 C. My work is highly demanding and extremely stressful. I've experienced this, much more and have been rewarded with a great sense of gratitude and appreciation for life.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to cook, make fun drinks and engage in stimulating conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Netherlands, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!