John and Kara Garwacki's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John and Kara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 31, Other
  • Member since 2013
  • English Teacher
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live life to its fullest and not waste any opportunity

ABOUT ME

Hi fellow CSer, John and Kara here! I left a career as a Project Manager and she as a Speech Language Pathologist to seek adventure here in Europe. I drool over old buildings and medieval streets, and Kara swoons for a bottle of wine and an eccentric street performer. We want to meet interesting people and share equally interesting stories. I'm the much more logical grounded person and Kara is much more artistic and a "life of the party" kind of person. She keeps me from taking myself too seriously and I make sure she doesn't wander into the street :P
We love to try new things and really love new foods. Personally, I'll eat anything once.
I have a huge range of hobbies and interests so chances are I'll be able to share in what you find interesting too.

Our FBs so you can see we are real and don't eat babies:
Kara - https://www.facebook.com/kara.lovato.1?fref=ts
John - https://www.facebook.com/john.garwacki

PHILOSOPHY

"Live and let live"
Life is too short and complicated to be worried about what everyone else is doing. Be a responsible person and care for yourself and your loved ones.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now we are surfing as we travel, but once we settle down we plan on extending our home to other CSers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We are just starting out but our first experience was with an Israeli family in Jerusalem and we couldn't have asked for a better introduction to the CS community!

Interests

New experiences, history, language learning, and learning from locals.

  • culture
  • wine
  • partying
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • surfing
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: It's kind of hard to truly hate a certain type of music. You just have to be in the mood for it. Even things as nasty as Justin Beiber can be fun when you are wasted and feel like making a fool of yourself. Personal favorite genres of mine are classic rock (Led Zeppelin, AC/DC...), American country/bluegrass (John Denver).

Movies/Shows: I really like historical fiction movies and shows. Things like The Tudors, Rome, Gladiator, Braveheart. Game of Thrones, Cosmos, The Big Bang Theory, and The Walking Dead or among my favorites at the moment.

Books: I'm ashamed to admit it, but I haven't picked up a book and finished it since college. I read plenty of articles online but I just haven't grabbed a book in awhile. Kara, on the other hand, will be reading 2 or 3 at a time. Crazy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It may not seem too amazing, but we quit respectable stable careers to uproot our lives and move to Spain for the opportunity to live in a different culture and meet people who have lived different lives than ourselves. We've met many great people that we otherwise would never have known existed.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John and Kara’s full profile. It’s free!