John Mola

Arcata, California, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Master's student, Humboldt State University
  • Environmental Studies, B.S. and playing in dirt.
  • From Either Monroe, CT or Tampa, FL
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Learn all I can about bees!


Been a while since I updated my C.S. page, but I've finally settled into a house in Arcata, CA while doing my master's in biology at Humboldt State University. I enjoy hiking, playing disc golf, hanging out with friends, playing guitar, doing my field research, and whatever else strikes the mood.


I don't know if I have one. If I do, it changes a lot.

I suppose if I have to, it'd be that I'd like to do something positive with my time on Earth. I view my passion for science as an extension of my personality; in that I mean while I love science because it brings me joy personally, I also hope to be able to help others through my science.

So put in more general terms, I'd like to enjoy my life, and through that joy bring help and well being to others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


As I said above, it's been a while since I've done C.S. stuff, but I've hosted folks and I've couchsurfed with others. I'm looking forward to hosting some people at my place while I'm settled here in Arcata. Let me know!


I've couchsurfed in Florida, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, California, and probably elsewhere if I thought about it for more than a bit! I've traveled back and forth across the country camping and surfing and living out of my car. I've had great times sharing food with hosts and surfers.

One time I even had the sincerely awkward pleasure of getting a nose bleed in someone's house in the middle of the night and attempting to find the bathroom in the dark! So I'll make sure you feel at home!


Hiking, food, learning, fire, music, playing music, social/solitary bees, coffee, cooking, backpacking, bicycles, eating, food, eating, cooking, cooking, hiking, did I say hiking, eating, cooking yet?

Music, Movies, and Books

I like so many dang types of music it's unrealistic. I don't like what you'd hear on the radio, unless it happens to be a particularly cool station! I like jazz, funk, ska, pop, reggae, blues, fusions, hip hop, bluegrass, folk, country, etc etc etc.

I've read a lot of books, and my interests oscillate. I enjoy a lot of naturalists' books, as well as distopian fiction...oh and Harry Potter. Shameless!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One amazing thing, eh? Hard to pick, life has been good to me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a lot about plants, ecology, environmental philosophy. I may also be able to help you learn to cook. But, I'm sure there's tons I can learn about all of these topics as well...and I'd love to!

Wrote that two years ago...since then I've taught General Botany Lab at Humboldt State...the biggest botany program in the country. I'd be glad to share that knowledge!

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups