Jonah Bernstein's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonah’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Economic Consulting
  • Bachelors from NYU
  • From Dobbs Ferry, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore and have an Awesome Summer!

ABOUT ME

Just started CouchSurfing and hope to use it on my trip starting next week. The CS dinner I went to in the Village (NYU) got me even more excited.

Educational Background:Started college at Tulane University in New Orleans but had to leave after the first year because of Hurricane Katrina in 2004. I began college pre-med, pre-business and possibly engineering. I still have interests in all three fields but I'll synthesize then coming from the business side. I finished college in 2008 with a finance degree.

Work: One of the internships I had in college was trading subprime debt (the stuff that caused the financial crisis) at Citi in Manahattan. After graduation I decided to move from trading into a position where I could get exposure to more industries. For the past three years I've been working for an economic consulting firm. Economic consulting is a broad area, but to give you some idea of what we do, a lot of the work involves being an expert in the context of large litigation.

Future work aspirations: I'm continuing my education. In addition to learning more about business, I'm considering picking up another degree in engineering or the hard sciences. Eventually, I see myself as a entrepreneur bringing new, useful and disruptive products to market. I will also support non-profit endeavors.

I can't wait to have some vacation. I've taken a few days off here and there over the past three years, but I haven't taken any big trips (like this one).

In nyc, I've enjoyed hanging out with friends, meeting new people, exploring the Saturday night scene, occasionally renting zip cars. I've lived in 5 places in the last three years. I like moving around to experience different people and places. Three of those 5 apartments I found on Craigslist and roomed with up to 3 other people. I guess this may be similar to CS.

I like to party but I don't use drugs and don't have more than a couple beers in a night. However, I def don't mind if the people I'm with are enjoying themselves with more alcohol etc.

I have an innate curiosity and like to learn from people, events and places. We could have intellectual discussions and meet new people together. I would like to see how people think in the places I'm traveling to, learn about their outlook on life and make friends. And of course, see the city / towns.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I look forward to be able to host people when I'm back from the current trip in September. And surf during my trip in July and August.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

first timer

Interests

wandering, hiking, meeting people

Music, Movies, and Books

Some movies I've seen: Hangover I&II, Braveheart, The Matrix, Fast Five, The Fast and the Furious, James Bond.
TV Shows: Curb your enthusiasm, the Simpsons

Live life to make a contribution.

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonah’s full profile.

My Groups