Jonas Brandes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonas’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German; learning Spanish
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2020
  • Let's see
  • Starting university soon
  • From Gelnhausen, Hesse, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

.
ABOUT ME :
21 year old guy who finished highschool last year. His goal is to escape out of his comfort zone and to see the world (starting with Europe because of a global pandemic, maybe you heard about it 😅) until he starts university next year. But his journey will definitely not end there. His goal is to cycle on every continent. Let's see when he will be able to achieve that. Maybe in 10 years ? In 20? In 60? Time will tell...
He is open minded, always ready for an adventure, spontaneous, always in a good mood (except he did not get enough sleep and he has to cycle a 100km 😂)
Just in case you want to follow my travel:
Instagram: jonas.hits.the.road

CURRENT MISSION :
1. Cycling Europe with my wonderful bicycle Ms. Crumble. Total distance ~25000km
Starting from Germany following the camino de Santiago, then surrounding the Iberian Peninsula, going to Georgia and from there to Norway and back to Germany
For the most part I do wildcamping. I used to do that with my hammock which can be very difficult sometimes, especially in dry areas where there are almost no trees but there is ALWAYS a solution even tough it can be very frustating sometimes. It can be a real challenge.
If you are interested in more, ask me :)
For the second part of my trip I changed to a tent tho, I am expecting a dry area for a long period of time and while having a challenge can be cool, it is not so cool if you struggle every single evening.

2. Seeking Discomfort
I believe that we can only grow by going out of our comfort zone. Therefore I conciously try to do things that I am afraid of, that feel uncomfortable - seeking discomfort. The goal is to make your comfort zone as large as possible : did you ever try something new, something uncomfortable but after a few times doing it it became normal? Congratulations, you just made your comfort zone a bit bigger :)
Unfortunately I do not always remember this because the human body and brain is made to avoid discomfort. So if I forget and I say "no" to something you propose me, you are very welcome to push me 🙌

3. I am on my journey to having a smaller carbon footprint, not wasting energy or water and avoiding plastic. My Couchsurfing hosts but also other people I met made me even more concious about this topic and showed me that it is not as hard and not as expensive than I thought 🥦

4. Finding my purpose in this beautiful world
This is a bit to complex to explain here. Let's share some thoughts when we meet 🤷🏼‍♂️

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

After downloading Couchsurfing as a free place to stay (at first) I realised that it is so much more. I love meeting these interesting, kind and generous people. Every time it is so different but so amazing 🤩 They already helped me so much not only by offering me a place to stay but also by giving me advise, by reaching out to their friends so that I have another save place to stay or just by having a nice conversation with me and listening to and respecting what I say.
As soon as I have the possibility I want to host people myself. They already helped me sooo much and I want to give back to this awesome community.

Interests

I do a lot of sports and I espacially love outdoor activities like hiking, mountain biking, surfing, kitesurfing, kayaking, climbing, etc. Even though I might not be good at it, like swimming (I know how to swim, but I am far from participating in a triatlon with a decent time for example. That is also a goal of mine btw.) I am really interested and I want to practice!

It has been some time that I played but I also like chess.

And I am always eager to try new things.

When I am at home I meet with friends a lot, we do sports together, we go out, we have fun and I am really grateful for the friends I have now 🙌 I can talk about EVERYTHING with them 🖤

Last but not least: travelling of course ! 🤪

  • cooking
  • vegan
  • partying
  • survival
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • languages
  • nature
  • friends
  • adventure
  • tea
  • conversation
  • curiosity
  • hammocking
  • cyclotourism
  • wildcamping
  • audible

Music, Movies, and Books

🎧 Music :
French rap
Pop
Dutch rap
German rap

📚 Books :
The Why Café
Harry Potter
The Power Of Now
Mit 50€ um die Welt

🎬 Movies:
Star Wars
Any kind of thrillers
Game changers
Marvel movies
Besser Welt als nie

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Cycling from Francfort to the baltic sea with my 2 best friends. We had some time pressure so the last day we cycled 44h without sleep.

Living in France for 3 months with my exchange family and in a boarding school.

Cycling from Germany to Portugal on my own without any training.

Learning how it is REALLY like to be alone. If you cycle for 9 days straight and you do not see anybody because of a global pandemic, you get the feeling.

Learning to LOVE to travel alone.

Crossing borders during a global pandemic.

Running a marathon and missing out on the most important phase of my one year preparation: I was sick 4 weeks before the marathon. I managed to finish in 5:05h with some crazy cramps and pain but finishing was one of the happiest moments in my life.

Sleeping in my hammock in Frensh mountains with -5°C

Teach, Learn, Share

I LOVE learning from others, their lifes, their stories and their mistakes. I am still not sure about my own way so I love hearing about ideas, possibilities and ways of living that I did not know about before. It is not for sure but it might happen that I ask you about your whole life haha. I am really really curious sorry not sorry 😂

Otherwise I can show you how to set up a hammock+tarp (it is not as easy as you might think) or I can give you some advice if you want to travel by bicycle yourself.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A dinner
A nice conversation, I am a good listener ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Italy, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonas’s full profile.

My Groups