Jonny Denfhy's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonny’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • 3rd year Medical Student at Lancaster university
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, I'm Jonny (some people call me Dr Jon)

A bit about me:

I'm a medical student at lancaster university in my third year of study. I'm interested in global medicine and next year I am travelling to Mexico to study for 5 weeks and learn some spanish too.

I like to think I'm friendly and positive. I love to hear about peoples life stories and adventures. I can play guitar, bass, drums and piano, so if you need music i'm there, just don't ask me to sing.

I love hiking in the countryside and swimming in lakes and rivers whenever I can. I live on the edge of the lake district so i'm always escaping there. I'm always up for an adventure or a new experience. I've dipped my hand in a few things in my short time on the planet so i might just surprise you with what i know.

Also, i'm veggie

Why i'm on couch surfing:

I'm looking to experience as much of the world as I possibly can and meet lots of new people along the way. That's why i'm on couch surfing because I love the idea of a global community with the goal of bringing people together from all around the world. As well, in a few years, fingers crossed, i will be a qualified doctor with a lot less time totravel and meet new people, so i'm trying to fit it all in now!

At the moment i'm just surfing but after summer i'm planning to host surfers too!

My travel history:

I've been on a lot of one off trips to places like Berlin and Paris but a couple of years ago I went interailing around europe and met some amazing people and saw some incredible places and I realised that is the kind of way I want to travel in the future, meeting new people who are proud to show me the place they live and happy to hangout.

Where I live:

I live in Lancaster, a lovely northern city with a great history and spectacular scenery. Lovely pubs, excellent cafes, and music every weekend. I play in a band here so I can take surfers to gigs and concerts if they come on the weekend and fancy it.

Thanks for reading :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm couchsurfing to see and learn more from the world and the people in it, having a good time whilst I'm doing it.

I'm also learning spanish too!

Interests

Music, literature, philosophy, films, debating, photography, art, science, travelling, medicine, wild swimming, hiking, global health, storytelling, storymaking, adventure and poetry.

  • arts
  • writing
  • literature
  • poetry
  • singing
  • photography
  • partying
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • drums
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skateboarding
  • swimming
  • art history
  • medicine
  • science
  • solo travel
  • adventure travel
  • travel
  • food
  • travelling
  • nature
  • world politics
  • theatre
  • nature walks
  • international politics
  • radical politics
  • reading and writing

Music, Movies, and Books

The the list of music i like is endless but most of all i love, jazz, psych, indie, afrobeat and "world music". Some artists I like are: Fela kuti, Tinariwen, Tame impala, chet baker, mapache, kyle craft, leonard cohen, david bowie, miles davis etc...

I love reading, so the list of authors is also endless but here are a few: laurie lee, alain de botton, malcom gladwell, noam chomsky, albert camus, jorges luis borges, pg woodhouse, Aldous huxley, george orwell...

As for films, again I like so many but recently i've really been into mexican directed films. But some of the films I like are: back to the future, lord of the rings, the harder they come, quadraphenia, ferris bueller's day of, land and freedom, any wes anderson film, the motor cycle diaries, y tú mama tambien, El fauna del laberinto.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Performed my poetry at the edinburgh fringe festival

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach you how to play songs on an instrument of your choosing. I could have a go at learning something new with you and I would love to listen, share and talk about stories and ideas, especially anything to do with the big questions in life. I'm also a performing poet, so if you need some poetry writing...

I'm very interested in politics and global health so stop me if i say too much! but i'm always open to different points of view and ideas, i think it's important to be able to listen to and get on with all kinds of people, regardless of politics or views, so let's have a chat!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Unparalleled enthusiasm and thankfulness, a desire for adventure. A debating partner/ thinker. A musical addition to the home and a temporary poet. Somebody to tell your story to and a cook if needed!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Scotland, Serbia, Spain, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonny’s full profile. It’s free!