Jonathan Barker

Reading, Berkshire, United Kingdom

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Finnish, French, German, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian
  • 59, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • I am an on board train catering steward
  • High school and university
  • From Reading
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To travel and see lesser known places in Europe


I am young at heart, prefer to see places as a traveller, not a tourist, meet and mingle with local people, use local bars, cafes and restaurants, staying in hostels, private rooms and B&B's.

I feel I am an outgoing & friendly person, who enjoys meeting people.

I work for the railway here in the UK, I make use of the travelling concessions I have by using the train to travel in Europe. By travelling by train I have the opportunity to meet people, see the scenery, as well as using night trains to travel longer distances.

I often travel alone, although I do have a companion on some trips. When I travel alone I sometimes find I am lonely in the evenings and feel I must keep going, rather than relaxing, chilling out.

As well as railways I am interested in buses, trams but also like to sample the local food and drink, visit a brewery if I can and take in some of the culture, including architecture and art.

I enjoy swimming and walking and would like to do these as well.


I want to live my life to the full, taking opportunities to travel and meeting people when not working.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I travel usually by train, public transport and avoid flying if possible. As above I want to meet the local people, use the local places for food and drink.

When people come to Britain I am hoping that I can show them places to visit, including those not on the "normal" tourist map.


I have been a Couch surfer for about a year and have joined several groups.

I have met several people in the places I have visited including Prague, Gent, Wroclaw, and in my home town.


Visiting and travelling through cities, towns and villages in Europe, hoping to meet the locals, participating in the local culture, using the public transport, eating and drinking different food and drink. Visiting museums and galleries, swimmimg and walking. Folk & local music, seeing local bands playing in bars. I like take part in walking tours which are organised by local people, which give me a taster for the city I am visiting. By taking part I have made many new friends. Everywhere I visit I do try to learn a few basic words & phrases of the language spoken,
After each trip I like to write up an account, I enjoy sharing information & giving advice to travellers. I have my own blog page.

Music, Movies, and Books

Travelling and biographical films.

Most "pop" music from the 1950's to 1990's, including the Eurovision song contests.Local folk music, current up & coming singer-songwriters

Travelling books, Harry Potter, Jennings, as well as local folk stories

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Recently I visited Lake Bled, Slovenia, which I found to be so beautiful, the people were lovely, as one guy stopped the traffic to allow my friend & I to cross the road.

In Sucheava, Romania we didn't understand where we should be on the station to catch an overnight train to Sighet Marmatiei & as a result we missed it. However a Romanian guy helped us to, book the train for the following morning & then checked us into a hotel, by the station. The next day he brought my travelling colleague some flowers & magazine for the journey.

In Ljubljana we went to a restaurant where the waiter suggested items from the menu as we were unsure what would make a tasty Slovene dinner.

On the train from Jesenice to Ljubljana my friend Daniel & started to talk with Monika, who was visiting her family, At the end of the journey she helped us by finding out about a train to Budapest, and as it was raining she took us on the bus to a square near to out hostel,

Teach, Learn, Share

I hope I can pass my interests to others and gain experience and confidence when on my travels

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups