Logo orange

Jonathan and Kristen Mooney

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 8 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan and Kristen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 20 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Carpenter
  • Travelling; Thorneloe Anglican Unive...
  • From Niagara Falls
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Start exploring our new hometown: Ottawa!

ABOUT ME

We love to travel! We love to eat! We especially love to eat when we're traveling! Being outdoors is important to us. We really enjoy trails in the trees and along the water. If we can't walk along the water, we would rather sail on it. We own a sailboat in desperate need of TLC... maybe we can take you out on it.

We're building a home near Parry Sound. We have a cute little lot on the water and we cannot wait to have people over there!

PHILOSOPHY

Figure out what is important to you, and make that activity, or person, or thing a priority in your life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Kristen and I are currently traveling, so our particpation at the moment is limited to sharing what we have brought with us (stories, recipes, the occasional chocolate bar, etc.). While at home, though, we host folks when we can and hang out with as many as we can when we can't host.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couchsurfed in Canada, Hungary, England, Poland, Thailand, New Zealand, Australia and Ireland. We have hosted several folks in Niagara. I have hung out with a few couchsurfers, too. I've had gelato with them, had some drinks with them, sailed with them and swam in the Ligurian Sea with them. Its a small start.

Interests

Couchsurfing! Learning; Travelling; Walking; Theology; Spirituality; Reading; Sewing; Photography; Ecology; History; Playing with musical instruments; Vegetarian dishes; Camp fires; Canoeing; Kayaking; Eating chocolate!

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Right now we're listening to the Barenaked Ladies. I'm kind of learning German so I have been listening to Wir Sind Helden a bit. In general, though, we just love listening to music no matter it's genre.

Music Video: Weapon of Choice (Moby)

Books: ANY Rough Guide! also, Janet Evanovich (author), The Ascent of Mount Carmel, the Law of Love, Fine Homebuilding

Movies: we don't own a television, but we LOVE the hilarious BBC series The Vicar of Dibley with Dawn French. We also really enjoy Game of Thrones, Community, Orphan Black and Symbiotic Titan.

Swordfish; Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon; The Princess Bride; Water Walker; One Week; Lost in Translation; The Illusionist; Magic in the Moonlight

One Amazing Thing I've Done

My girlfriend at the time (now, my wife), Kristen, and I were on a beach in Finikoundas, Greece. It went on seemingly for kilometers and we had it to ourselves. Quietly and hand in hand, we watched a beautiful sunset there. I loved that.

Spring Equinox chants on the cliff with fellow cs-er Lorna from Kinsale. wow

Sailing in the Sydney Harbour on a 40ft yacht with cs-ers Dave and Bron

Kayaking through the 30,000 islands (maybe not all of them on the same day) in Georgian Bay, Canada.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can bake cookies, cake and other things that generally aren't good for you.

We have also traveled to a fair number of places and can tell you about them... especially what kinds of food you can eat there! If you're interested in traveling, we really enjoy talking about it and learning about new places.

I'm a carpenter, so if you have a small wood-related job I would love to help out.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan and Kristen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile