Logo orange

Jon Selig

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References1 Negative
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Hebrew (modern)
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • I have a dual life. I do some startu...
  • HOW have I been educated? In various...
  • From Montreal, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I heard about this and figured it's an interesting way to meet some people I most likely woundn't get to otherwise! I'm creative, imaginative, and wacky when I wanna be.

ABOUT ME

I'm a late bloomer in life - I'm 40 (eesh!), half-business professional, half-standup comic, and half-traveller. Wait - that'd THREE halves!!! You get the idea...

I only REALLY started travelling when I was 30, and started standup at 36. Now, they both consume me...to some degree.

I love meeting fantastic new people, I like to have a good time, learn from other people's experiences.

I'm all about good music, amazing food, choice beverages, and taking loads of photos of everything I see and encounter.

PHILOSOPHY

Treat others as you want to be treated. Or whatever it says in that book that Jews and Christians seem to enjoy reading :-)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Was in Europe in 2008, and had my 1st couple of quasi-couch surfing experiences. Firstly was at the late July Amsterdam get together, and met a bunch of swell folks! I figured I'd contact some people for my trip to Copenhagen, and ended up meeting (but not staying with) someone super cool who enthusiastically showed me around. Met some great people in Lisbon, and finally took the plunge and stayed with one!

Now, I am home, and am happy to do my part. I admit, I'm more someone who could show you around Montreal than put you up for a night, but you never know...if I get to know you I might be able to help you out for a night or 2. I'm an excellent tourguide, always up for meeting new people from interesting places, who want to do a bit more of a local thang. Prefer to meet people 27-40.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

See previous paragraph!

Interests

Interesting conversation, travel, standup comedy, music (many other genres), guitar, keyboards, basketball, world politics, ethnic cuisine, fine beers, comedy, amazing flicks, the list goes on and on.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Wilco, Belle and Sebastian, Okkervil River, Radiohead, Beatles, Arcade Fire, Rolling Stones, My Morning Jacket, New Pornographers, Broken Social Scene, Teenage Fanclub, Camera Obscura, The Who, Bob Dylan, Bob Marley. SO many more....sheesh!!!!

Movies: Goodfellas, Shawshank Redemption, The Last Waltz, Shreks 1 & 2, Borat.

Books: Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz, lots of non-fiction.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

It's kinda a cliche travel spot, but Cinque Terre in Italy is quite a place. Goreme (Turkey) is magical.

Teach, Learn, Share

I find that I meet different people, and we don't always share the same opinions, but we need to understand our motivations for he other person's opinions. Usually their motives are just different from yours - and neither is necessarily bad, ust different.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile