Jonny Fitz's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonny’s full profile.

Overview

  • 66 references 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Gaelic; learning Chinese (Simplified), Italian, Russian, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • English teacher
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

(I am triple vaccinated )

I'd like to see as many countries in the world as possible!

Experiences are better when shared.

New friends, new food, language, laughter and smiles, life is very short :)

ABOUT ME

Hi my name is Jonny and I come from a very small town in the West of Ireland. (A very green place, with sheep and cows, potatoes Guinness and leprechauns).

I grew up in a very musical family; since very young music has been an important part of my life.
I grew up learning classical, ( Cello and piano), now my family plays a lot of traditional Irish music, I also really love lots of other genres.

I love planning travel adventures, learning new skills, yoga, slacklining, juggling, climbing and break-dancing.

I love to meet new people, learn about differences and similarities of countries and cultures, new languages, enjoying delicious food, and experiencing what this world has to offer.

What I can offer couchsurfers ---
I live in a very central location ten minutes walk from the main street - O'Connell street, and our house is also located on the main road from the airport.
We have a rooftop apartment with a great view of the city, (With a view of Croagh Park, the largest Gaelic sports stadium in Ireland), currently we have a fold out double sofa bed and two couches for sleeping, we can also provide three air mattress with sleeping bags.
We love meeting people from around the world. Come hang out with us :)

I've lived in a few different locations; Dublin and Galway, Leeds in the UK, Pisa in Italy, Bielsko Biala in Poland, Hengyang in China, Bangkok Thailand and Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia.
Living in different places I've been lucky to meet many interesting people, and share great experiences.

I have been working on and off as an English teacher, and I'm more than happy to give some help if someone needs it.

I believe strongly in helping others who need it, and I've really enjoyed helping and volunteering in different workaway jobs for different families and organizations.

If I stay with you, I'm more than happy to help with housework, make a meal or clean the dishes, whatever you need!
Just know that I will be very grateful for any help you can give me.
(I also understand if you prefer to be left alone, I can be a quiet guest!).

I look forward to meeting you and making a new friend!

PHILOSOPHY

- Anything that Eckhart Tolle has said 😂

"Be the change you want to see in the world"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted surfers from Germany, Argentina, USA, Spain, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Ukraine, Chile, Bulgaria, Transnistria and Brazil so far.. More countries hopefully soon!

Interests

I would love to learn about the food of your country. I love the food of Italy and Spain, but I always enjoy to try new dishes! I can also cook for you.

I play the Cello, piano, drums, guitar, ukelele, harmonica, bodhran, tin whistle, clarinet and beginner saxophone.

I used to play in a few orchestras over the years in different countries; The University of Pisa Orchestra, the National Youth Orchestra of Ireland, the City of Leeds Youth Orchestra, the Orchestra of University College Dublin and the Galway Youth Orchestra.

I love to learn about the history and geography of different countries.
At the moment I'm enjoying learning about different ex Soviet countries, and I'd love to visit the Central Asian Stans one day :).

  • arts
  • culture
  • literature
  • dancing
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • piano
  • drums
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • history
  • languages
  • travel
  • food

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: James Brown, Roy Ayers, John Lee Hooker, Muddy Waters, Lou Reed, The Smiths, Groove Armada, A Tribe Called Quest, Nas, Bob Dylan, Led Zeppelin, Cypress Hill, Toots and the Maytals, Scientist, Parliament/Funkadelic, Jimi Hendrix, Gang Starr, The Doors, Pink Floyd, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Moodymann, Gorillaz, Madlib.

I enjoy travel writers, Eric Newby, Bruce Chatwin, and Gurdjieff. I loved the cycling books by Rob Lilwall and Alastair Humphreys. Midnight in the garden of good and evil, Factotum, 100 years of solitude, Norwegian wood, Wheel of time series, Meetings with remarkable men, Shantaram, Seven years in Tibet.

My favorite movies are The Blues Brothers, A night at the Roxbury and the old Star Wars trilogy, Wes Anderson movies, anything with Bill Murray, Clockwork Orange, The Big Lebowski.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I played with the National Orchestra of Ireland at the burj khalifa in Dubai on St Patrick's day

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help with teaching English, help with grammar/vocab/conversation
I can speak a little Gaelic
I am also learning Italian and Spanish currently.
I can teach music and dancing and I love to draw.
I would love to learn more languages and experience local culture and history of different countries.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can help out with housework if needed, help with English, or I can make a cup of tea.!

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Bulgaria, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, England, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonny’s full profile.

My Groups