Jonny Tamlyn's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonny’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 20 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Teacher of English language and Literature & freelanc...
  • University graduate.
  • From Beautiful South-West England
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy life in South-East Asia while working at an international school in Yangon.

ABOUT ME

I'm a happy go lucky sort of guy and have been fortunate enough to experience the decent side of life these last few years after travelling a fair bit and living overseas. I've recently returned home to breathtaking Cornwall and I'm now enjoying all the benefits of living in a beautiful spot by the ocean along with heaps of great, arty, outdoorsy, fun lovin' types. I teach literature and language in a high school and spend much of my free time looking for adventure in the form of rock climbing, surfing and anything else that catches my eye. I'm pretty easy going, love to meet new people and have an eye for the good times and people who keep the world spinning in a happy direction. If you're keen to come and experience some Kernowfornia living, then hit me up and I'd be happy to host you. (:

PHILOSOPHY

Life' s just a ride. I live to have fun and find adventure! If I can pass on some knowledge that will leave the world a better place once I'm gone then it's a bonus!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Aside from spreading the couchsurfing message, I love to host and surf new couches in new places.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed couches in New Zealand and Japan and have also met a good few fellow couchsurfers along my way; I've hosted surfers from Japan, China, Canada, the U.S, Germany, South Africa, the U.K, France and Norway. So often I've found myself at the receiving end of warm and hospitable people, from friendly families in New Zealand offering a weary traveller a warm bed and shower for a few days, to new friends in new places that took the time to show me around their homes and give me a place to stay. I hope CS will help me meet many more colourful people from around the world.

Interests

Travel, climbing, writing, snowboarding, music, guitar, surfing, martial arts/yoga, reading, hiking, polemics, conversation, satire, radio, zines/radical media, film, red wine, festivals, co-operatives, meeting new people..

  • arts
  • writing
  • literature
  • festivals
  • wine
  • red wine
  • yoga
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • cliff jumping
  • martial arts
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • communications

Music, Movies, and Books

Easy Rider, Into the Wild, The Beatles, Neil Young, Bon Ivor, Bonobo, Joni Mitchell, Nick Drake, Andy C, Prodigy, Christopher Hitchens, Noam Chomsky, Bill Bryson, Paul Theroux..

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2009 I set off from London on a six month trip, backpacking across North America, New Zealand, Australia, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, Burma and India. It was an experience that will always stay with me, it brought me into contact with new and fascinating cultures and breathtaking scenery while giving me the opportunity to build new and lasting friendships with people from all over the world.

From 2009 to 2011 I taught English as a foreign language in Korea, teaching in various elementary schools. Living in a foreign country has been among the most rewarding experiences of my life, giving me international work experience and helping me to grow, learn and engage with customs and traditions outside of what I grew up with.

Since August 2015 I've taught at an international school in Yangon, Burma.

Teach, Learn, Share

It'd be great to get you out in the water for a surf, swim or some cliff jumping, or if you're keen to climb we could check out some of Cornwall's big, granite sea cliffs. It's a good pace of life down here in 'Kernowofinia' so we'd find plenty of fun things to do.

UPDATE: I'm currently living in Yangon so I could show you around the city and nearby areas, especially if you're keen to ride motorbikes or mountain bikes. There's lots to see!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Myanmar, South Korea, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonny’s full profile. It’s free!