Jon Xu

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Japanese, Russian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD student (Mathematics) and mathematics teacher
  • Bachelor of Science (Advanced Mathematics)
  • From Sydney, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I can seem reserved but I'm interesting when prodded with the right topic. I sometimes can be very quiet but that doesn't mean I don't like you!

I think that learning to understand people is important for us to have happy and peaceful lives.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm beginning to flesh out what participating in couchsurfing means for me, watch this space.


Mathematics, Languages, People, Writing, Literature.

Music, Movies, and Books

I've watched a lot of movies, read a lot of books and listened to a lot of music - it's hard to say which are my favourites, so I'll just say some off the top of my head:

Books: George Eliot "Middlemarch", Primo Levi "If this is a man", Martin Amis "Time's Arrow",

Music: Max Richter, Miles Davis

Film: Citizen Kane, Godfather

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I learned Mandarin between the ages of 3 and 7. I stopped for 14 years, until I tried to teach it to myself at 21. I never took language learning seriously until this age, and hated languages during my school years. I am 25 now and near conversational in the language. I'm also semi-conversational in French and Japanese.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am able to teach mathematics, up to and including bachelors level pure mathematics. I have some knowledge of language learning and mindfulness meditation, but I'm no expert. I am near conversational in Mandarin and conversational in Cantonese, and am currently learning Japanese. I know how to cook an apple strudel and I can talk a little bit about Australian culture, society and politics.



Bonjour, je m'appelle Jon. Je suis de Australie, et j'ai vingt cinq ans. Je parle un peu français. J'ai etudié le français pendant environ cinq mois, avec un ami français.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, China, Denmark, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China

Join Couchsurfing to see Jon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups