Joost van Baal's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joost’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 76 References 65 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Italian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Computers, music
  • Mathematics at University
  • From Helmond, The Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meeting people

ABOUT ME

I am a IT engineer: I do GNU/Linux and Unix system
administration. I do volunteer work for Open Source
software projects. I like good and experimental music: Boards
of Canada, Captain Beefheart, Johnny Cash, Jazz, Greek Rembetica, Mexican Cumbia. I am a DJ. I like art, both modern
and old. I like visiting museums. I like literature,
like Gogol. I enjoy good food and drinks. For sports, I am a pugilist.

I married Jelena, on CS as http://couchsurfing.org/people/argo .

In 2014, we moved from Eindhoven to Tilburg.

If you'd like to surf my couch, you might want to post your request
via www.bewelcome.org ; i prefer bewelcome over cs.

PHILOSOPHY

Learn.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted some people, and I've enjoyed being hosted. I visit local CS groupmeetings in The Netherlands and I've organised a bicycle tour for
a local group. I am organising CS Language Meetings
in Eindhoven.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted Open Source software developers in the past, and have stayed there. As of 2009-11, I have hosted 8 CSers.
As of 2009-01, I have stayed at other CSers for 5 times: in Belgium, the UK, in Germany and in The Netherlands.

I participate in CS-meetings in Eindhoven.

Interests

See also my personal homepage at http://mdcc.cx/.
I enjoy traveling, these are the places I've visited:

visited 37 states (16.4%)Create your own visited map of The World.

  • arts
  • literature
  • cumbia
  • dining
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • flying
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • socializing
  • music
  • jazz
  • sports
  • engineering
  • mathematics
  • software
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Recently seen movies (2009-06) "Enjoy Poverty" (Dutch
art documentary about africa and humanitarian NGO's),
Documentary about life in Chili by dutch artist Heddy Honigmann. I like arthouse movies by Wim Wenders,
Buster Keaton, Krzysztof Kieslowski, Werner Herzog, Miranda July ("Me and You and Everyone We Know"),
"Dogville" by Lars Von Trier, "Waltz with Bashir",
actress Charlotte Rampling and lots of others.

Music: Cumbia, Country and Western, Franco et le TPOK Jazz (african), Bob Dylan, Sonic Youth, Bach, And_You_Will_Know_Us_By_the_Trail_of_Dead, Wire, Trentemøller, Rhys Chatham, Henry Cow, Napalm Death and lots more

Books: Platonov, Robert Musil, Rumi, Doris Lessing, Imre Kertesz, Kafka, Hermann Hesse, Gogol, Daniil Charms, Celine, Charlotte
Mutsaers

See also http://mdcc.cx/~joostvb/verlanglijst/ .

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing a bird of prey flying in the sun at La Palma, Canary Islands.

Hearing about 10 electric guitars playing at maximum
volume in a small club, doing a one-chord piece by Rhys Chatham.

Seeing a tryptich by Keith Haring in
Eglise St Eustache, Paris. (http://www.flickr.com/photos/monceau/3334129958/ ,
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89glise_Saint-Eustache,_Paris )

Teach, Learn, Share

I know about Open Source Software, like Linux and Ubuntu.
I know about music and other art. I know about food and cooking. I know about mathematics (did my master's thesis).

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cabo Verde, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Rwanda, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joost’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups