Jordi G's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jordi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 50 references 37 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • International Relations
  • From Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey everyone! Originally from Brisbane, moved to Melbourne to live my best #hispterlyf.

I consider myself to be open-minded, friendly and out-going. I believe that every human being on this planet has the right to live in peace and prosperity, free from violence and human rights violations, regardless of where they come from. I’m a unionist, an intersectional feminist, and I’m heavily active in political spaces, particularly the refugee movement in Australia.

I spent 2 years living in France, from 2016-2018. While I was living there I tried to see as much of Europe as possible. But I didn't just want to "see" places like a tourist and go home - I wanted to meet new people, try new food, be immersed in new cultures and have experiences that I would never forget. Couchsurfing has definitely lived up to my expectations - my experience of travelling was people willing to open their homes to me and show me their cities, all for the exchange of human company. And I've had some pretty cool people stay with me too!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I visit a new city, I want to meet the locals! I prefer to couchsurf when I travel, it's the best way to meet other people and share culture/language/food. I do a lot of travelling by myself, so it's nice to be able to meet up with people if I feel like some company. I've been to quite a few couchsurfing events when I've been travelling solo and I've met the most amazing people. My couchsurfing hosts have taken me hiking, partying, to amazing restaurants I never would have known existed, to festivals, to bars, to places I could never go if I didn't know somebody local.

Interests

  • arts
  • books
  • performing arts
  • street art
  • concerts
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • film festivals
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • partying
  • reading
  • music
  • classical music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • art history
  • international relations
  • languages
  • language exchange
  • solo travel
  • adventure travel
  • sightseeing
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • travelling
  • nature
  • learning languages
  • markets
  • bars
  • feminism
  • meeting new people
  • sunsets
  • vegetarian cooking
  • vegan cooking
  • nature walks
  • cafe hopping

Music, Movies, and Books

BOOKS: Watership Down (Richard Adams), Harry Potter series (J.K. Rowling), Slaughterhouse Five (Kurt Vonnegut), Fight Like A Girl (Clementine Ford), To Kill A Mockingbird (Lee Harper), Black Beauty (Anna Sewell), Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)

MUSIC: Arctic Monkeys, Tame Impala, The Dresden Dolls, Radiohead, Orelsan, Stromae, Ball Park Music, Courtney Barnett, Sigur Ros, Placebo, Violent Soho, Franz Ferdinand, Tash Sultana, The Strokes, Mø, The Black Keys

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I travelled all over Europe while I was living in France, especially to hike. I've hiked the French Alps, Italian Dolomites, Swiss Alps, Slovenian Alps, and the Pyrenees.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to know about your food, your culture, your customs, your music. And I'd love to teach you about mine.

I’m an activist in refugee, union and feminist spaces. Would love to exchange ideas with other open-minded people, and learn about these spaces and how they operate in other countries.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have 2 years of experience working as an English teacher, so I can help you with your English. I'm fluent in French but I'd love to learn a bit of Spanish if you could help me!

I consider myself a pretty good cook too, if you want me to share some vegan recipes.

I can also play a bit of guitar and ukulele, so feel free to bring any musical instruments you have and we can have a jam.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Jordi’s full profile.