Jorge Vicent's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 19 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jorge’s full profile.

Overview

  • 59 references 43 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, French, Spanish; learning Polish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Scientist (Earth sciences)
  • PhD in remote sensing
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After finishing my PhD thesis in Valencia (Spain), I've recently moved to Warsaw. I'm excited to start a new chapter of my life adventure

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life, keep learning from other people and travel

ABOUT ME

I like to go for party with my friends, sometimes I prefer a more relaxing plan as going out to drink a beer.
I love to visit some friends who live in other countries. It is nice to know more about a place when there is people living in those countries and can show you more things about the real life there.

I also love cooking when I have some free time. Maybe I should think about being a cook instead of doing research at the university :)

I feel European (more than spanish) in the sense that I like to meet people around different countries and learn new languages. I studied in Switzerland and I loved the experience meeting fantastic people everyday. Now I'm living in Poland and I'm willing to discover what this country and its people have to offer

PHILOSOPHY

- Carpe diem
- Live and let die... I mean, live

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined the Couchsurfing community in 2009 in order to learn from other cultures, languages and meeting nice and friendly people. Since then, I've had more that 100 people in my house, always being great experiences.
Getting to know new people is one of the best things about Couchsurfing. Also the possibility of showing them my hometown, going out with my friends and having interesting conversations made the experiences unforgettable.
With some people I met through Couchsurfing, I still have a very good contact and friendship

Interests

Traveling, meeting new people, learning new languages, partying, science...and craft beer, I love craft beer :)

Music, Movies, and Books

- Movies: Blade runner, Amelie, Hotel Budapest, Life of Pi,... Actually almost any kind of films.
- Music: I mostly like prefer rock, newage and jazz. My favourite bands/artist are Pink Floyd, Yes and Vangelis, but for dancing in a club I like almost any kind of music, mainly latin music and funky, indeed I've been taking salsa lessons
- Books: I really like to read science-fiction books. I love Martian Chronicles and Dune. Now I would like to read some classical books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I took a bath under a waterfall and fjords in Norway.
Survive in a two-days polish wedding party :D

Teach, Learn, Share

Mostly, I can show you the local life in Valencia, the food, the party and some non-touristic places around the city. They also say I'm good at cooking so maybe could teach some cook recipes. I could also teach spanish at some level, in fact I participate in a tandem program to teach spanish and learn other languages.

I would like to learn everything. Meeting new people I guess that I will learn more about their home countries, culture, tradition and their way of living.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I could offer being your guide through the city or at least giving you useful tips of what to see, do, eat and drink in Valencia so that you feel like a local rather than a tourist.
Also I normally invite my friends to join me with the couchsurfers so that we can share some nice conversation and feeling part of the local life in Valencia.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Jorge’s full profile.

My Groups