Joseph Chan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joseph’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Malay; learning Korean, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Casino
  • Bachelor degree in finance
  • From Song, Sarawak, Malaysia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I start out slow and will eventually be very engaging, talkative after ice break.

I was told that I look like chinese/malay/khmer/thai/korean. I am from a Malaysia Chinese family with a little bit of Borneo aboriginal blood.

Love to open my heart to all new things along the way of my exploration.

Love big cities and I enjoy hiking, trekking, walking in the forest, the mountain, sometimes the beach. Still in search of the city that offers me the balance between modernization and beautiful nature but more toward nature.

I mostly travel solo. I don’t smoke. Drink occasionally.

2015- 2020
Started my first CS at S.Korea. Had many first time experience including being hosted by naturalist, solo scooter ride trip for approximately 100km, including 20km of muddy road ride to explore the nature at Luang Prabang. Travelled quite a lot around Southeast Asia. Covered some parts of South America, Aus, NZ while working on a world cruise.

2021
Backpacking in Myanmar and stopped by Bangkok before moving on to Philippines. This was at the early stage of covid and was lucky that I made it back home prior the major lockdown in most cities around the world. And that was pretty much the last travel experiences I had.

Sep-??? 2022
Finally stepped onto the Europe land with first stop at Greece. Initial plan was to do Greece for 40 days, but things changed along the way and I’m currently still on the trip way over my 40 days plan. At Turkey at the moment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet you. And to know the life of the people in the city I visit. Or as the introduction before further exploration of the places I visit.

To make my travel experience a different one and hopefully make yours different one as well.

Interests

Travel, movies, different cultural experiences, food, desserts, anything matcha, hiking.

  • cats
  • culture
  • photography
  • walking
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • badminton
  • languages
  • beaches
  • food
  • gadgets

Music, Movies, and Books

Love all kind of music from contemporary pop, alternatives, classical to instrument...

Recently come to realise that my top song is “ALL I WANT” by Kodaline. Go check it out!!!

Some of the movies/series I like including Avatar, Mad Max, Top Gun Maverick, The Fault in Our Stars, Titanic, Game of Throne, House of The Dragon, Money Heist…

I read sometimes. Some authors I like including John Green, Amy Tan, P. Coelho,九把刀...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Tagging in for wild pig hunting in the farm and mountain close to midnight while I was WWOOFing at South Korea.

Teach, Learn, Share

Culture, language, life experience, travel....

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my experience working onboard cruise ship and living on sea with you if you're interested :) and I can teach you few languages (mandarin, malay, english, cantonese, hokkien/taiwanese language, Iban).

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Cambodia, Chile, China, Curaçao, Egypt, Greece, Grenada, Honduras, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malaysia, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Joseph’s full profile.

My Groups