JP Manzano's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see JP’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Post-doc Scientific Researcher
  • University of Oxford
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, world! :D

I created this account many years ago but never used it. I am happy to share my social media or videocalling as I don't have references yet. Now (end 2022), I am starting to travel alone and I think CS is a great way of meeting people around the world and making the most of our adventures!

I am a physicist researching at the University of Nottingham (UK) about Computational Neuroscience and Artificial Intelligence.

I consider myself a very proactive, curious, respectful and open-minded person. I am the same guy that can enjoy giving a talk at an international scientific conference or playing football barefoot with kids in a remote region of Cambodia. I am lucky to enjoy almost any plan, especially if it involves learning something new...so open to what you have to propose (I will bring plans also)!

PS: I am starting to create content (mainly for Youtube) about my trips, not only the typical cinematic video but videos showing different aspects about the place to raise awareness (e.g., history, differences in the culture, politics, etc.) and also related with personal interests (e.g., training martial arts in different gyms around the world, music collaborations, conversations with other researchers, etc.). So let me know if you have any ideas! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love getting lost searching for off-beaten paths, and getting immersed in the local community as much as I can wherever I go so...CS seems to be the perfect option to meet people with similar interests to me around the world so...let's meet up!

Interests

  • arts
  • culture
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • martial arts
  • extreme sports
  • knowledge
  • live concerts
  • hikes
  • off-road

Music, Movies, and Books

I cannot give a single step in my life without music in my headphones. What music will highly depend on the moment; muscled cannot grow based on a single meal, right? I do rap music, but I do love dancing salsa, being the last to leave a rave or having a drink in a jazz live music pub.

As for books and movies, I usually seek more dialogue than action, and reflection more than entertainment. It is common to see me watching a documentary rather than a movie (I know, booooooring haha).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the things I feel proudest of myself is about my music. It made me share unforgettable experiences, meet one of my best friends nowadays and learn that it could help many people. I left it for a few years but picking it up again, so always open to doing music wherever I go!

You can check it out here! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bo0VB3qt0a4&list=PLr7cZ7TM-d0DlwYuAkDC2WVRwzbg5RDm2&index=4

Teach, Learn, Share

I think time and listening are one of the best things anyone can offer to each other...but I can also teach you how to code an artificial neural network if you prefer xD

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can't promise anything but many stories, good music in the background and laughs :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Cuba, England, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Tanzania, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see JP’s full profile.