Joshua Rasquinha's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 26 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Japanese, Norwegian Bokmål, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Education Support/Teacher's Aide/Musician
  • Bachelor of Science (Applied Physics)/Bachelor of Enginee...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was born in Australia to my two wonderful working-class parents. They met in Catering College, and migrated from India to start their new life. They worked hard to give me and my sister world-class educations. I want to give back to the world the same way they have given to me.
2020-2021 was horrible for my mental health, but I was lucky to keep my job, albeit working from home, and because we were locked down for months on end, I had saved up enough money to buy a discount ticket overseas and travel for a while.
I've decided to finally use that money to explore some places I have never been to, and to meet people who think the same way as me, who want to give back in the same way that I do. And I want to offer those beautiful people a place to stay in Melbourne, for doing the same for me :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I made an extremely last minute decision to travel across Europe and North America on a budget, and I think it might turn out to be the worst financial decision I make...unless you can offer me a place to stay? :D

I love the idea of couchsurfing! I'm a bit disappointed that it is now a paid platform, but I guess it's a bit more secure that way. I want to meet likeminded people from all over the world, and give back in whatever way I can :)
Hoping to make some new life-long friends to offer a place to stay in Melbourne, if you ever visit!

Interests

  • diy
  • cooking
  • bouldering
  • coding
  • music
  • live music
  • rock climbing
  • mathematics
  • science
  • art
  • programming
  • bands
  • arts and crafts
  • problem solving
  • cryptic crosswords

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I adore all sorts of music. It is such an integral part of my life. If you love music, you will love Melbourne. We have live music every night of the week! Recently I've been listening to Slow Pulp, Bill Evans, Tame Impala/POND, Middle Kids. I hope you can introduce me to something new!

Movies: Wall-E, Pirates of the Caribbean, The Grand Budapest Hotel and Hot Fuzz come to mind. I've seen many fantastic movies in my lifetime, Shrek 3 most recently.

Books: I admittedly haven't read much as of late. Currently reading Aldous Huxley's 'Island'

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Started a band and joined another one!
Wilderglow and Jerrabies

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach for a living! I taught music for 7 years at Caroline Springs School of Music. I love sharing knowledge and learning through doing. If you have an instrument you are learning, I can help you learn any song!
I can also help you out with university level mathematics, English (Australian) and can talk about scientific developments for as long as you can bear it.
I'd love to learn how to cook your favourite meal! Let me buy some of the ingredients and help you make it :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you have a guitar, I can play for you, perhaps even sing you a song as well. I am also quite experienced with music production, especially using Ableton Live.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, India, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua’s full profile.