Logo orange

Joshua Perez

Houston, Texas, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • I work as a volunteer/community outr...
  • In college
  • From Houston, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy each day for what it is.

ABOUT ME

I'm dorky, deep voiced, and have a laugh that will make a room stop and take notice. Currently I work as a Volunteer/Community Outreach Manager for a nonprofit hostel here in Houston. "Nonprofit hostel-How does that work?" you may be asking. Well, not only do I get to take people from all over the world out into Houston (usually to get them drunk) but I also get to help inspire members of the Houston community (through travel classes and such) to explore the world around them.

I enjoy going on new adventures but am just as happy enjoying some beers with friends at my favorite dive bar. I'm gay, so if you plan on spending some time with me you need to be okay with that.

I've not traveled much outside the US, but I'm looking forward to doing so within the next year.

PHILOSOPHY

The best adventures happen when you don't have a plan. I live my life in hopes of seeing everything I want to see and feeling everything I want to feel.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Unfortunately at this time I can't host people. However, if you're in Houston and want some good company to show you around, well let me know. I truly enjoy showing visitors everything that Houston has to offer. It's a great city, you just have to know where to look.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've not couchsurfed yet! The perk of working for a chain of hostels is that I get to stay for free at our various locations! However, I've met a few people off here for drinks while I've been traveling.

Interests

Good beers, slightly warm afternoons, and sharing stories with friends.
Travel, obviously, is amazing. Traveling doesn't always have to be a big and long commitment. Weekend and day trips are just as enjoyable, if just to get out of the city and go on an adventure.
I'm currently trying to find a creative outlet. I'm not sure what they will be yet, though.
I am a voracious read and own several hundred books.
I try to keep a general interest in all things necessary: Politics, pop culture, etc. Of course there are some subjects I'm interested more than others.
One thing I really enjoy is speaking with other people. Listening to others' stories and hearing how they came to be fascinates me. Everyone has their own little histories waiting to be shared.
Currently I'm trying to learn Spanish (my parents never taught me) and relearn the violin and trombone (I played both as a child).

Music, Movies & Books

I just honestly cannot name just one, or even put a list together. I love too many of each category.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Making it to where I am today in one piece. There were quite a bit of hurdles in my life. I am very happy to have come this far.

Teach, Learn, Share

Everyone has something they can share with someone else, whether it be a recipe or a dance. I look forward to learning from others and sharing my knowledge with them.

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Joshua's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile