Josh Zhang & John Zhang's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Josh’s full profile.

Overview

  • 252 references 182 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Yue (Cantonese); learning French, Japanese, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Exploring the world & Tutoring English and martial art
  • English Major
  • From Chengdu, Sichuan, China
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey there! We're thrilled to be hosting again in 2023 and can't wait to welcome you to our home in Chengdu! We're a friendly family, and we love hosting guests with little kids. Our own son, Johnson, is 4 years old and speaks Chinese and simple English.

we're all about creating a fun and cultural experience for our guests. We're passionate about sharing traditional Chinese culture with you. Get ready to witness exciting lion dance performances and even learn some Wing Chun Kung Fu moves if you're up for it!

We've been hosting Couchsurfers since 2012 and have met amazing people from all over the world. As locals, we can give you insider tips and help you explore the best of Chengdu. Our place is conveniently located near delicious snack restaurants and provides easy access to train stations and tourist bus centers.

When we're not hosting, we're busy rescuing and rehoming stray cats and dogs. If you love animals, we'd love to share our stories with you!

During your stay, we can teach you some Chinese, introduce you to our favorite local dishes, and share our Couchsurfing adventures. We're also passionate about music, movies, and sports like Kung Fu and badminton.

We're excited to meet you, share our home, and create lifelong memories together. Reach out to us if you have any questions or if you're ready for an awesome time in Chengdu, China!

Looking forward to hosting you soon,

Josh, John, and little Johnson

PHILOSOPHY

If you do not have time and money to travel around the world, then let the world come into your life!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

make friends, connect to the world

Interests

2015~2020 Josh Has been continuously volunteering to rescue and rehome homeless cats and dogs, participating in rescue about 30+ per year, In Chengdu China.

2015~2023 John Practised Chinese Kongfu and lion dance

  • animals
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • martial arts
  • badminton
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

music: indie folk rap jazz gothic trip-hop R&B Soul
Favourite Musician(English)

James Morrison.Made in Heights. The xx. Birdy. Massive Attack.Lisa Hannigan James Bay .Sia Jessie J.Lorde
Halsey 高铃,宇多田光

Went to Independent Live music of:
Canadian singer-Chris Garneau
Iceland indie band-MUM
French Rock singer-Izia
American Independent singer -Yamagata Racheal

movie:English ,Japanese, French,Indian films
Dramas:Most of American TV show,Japanese dramas,and some popular drama made by BBC

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Quit our former job at 2012
2012 started our own independent Language workshop Friends-House 【Chengdu Friends-House】to organize ENGLISH MEEP-UP over 500+ events

2012~2019 Hosted over 300+ couch surfers from all over the world, we are so happy to meet and get to be friends with them!

2016-2023 John practiced Chinese Kongfu Training and part-time coaching on Traditional Martial Art
and Lion dance.

2016-2023 Josh start a local cats rescue group of 300 volunteer members, rescuing/fostering and rehoming stray cats.

2018.9 We had our baby boy—little Johnson

Teach, Learn, Share

we can teach you some Chinese, introduce you to our favorite local dishes, and share our Couchsurfing adventures. We're also passionate about music, movies, and sports like Kung Fu and lion dance.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hosting stories,chinese language,Music
A guest room in chengdu city, if they come to see panda.

Share experience of Practice Chinese Kongfu
Homecoming Chinese food for Hosts and guests

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, Japan, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

China

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Josh’s full profile.

My Groups