Tore Frederiksen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tore’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning German, Hebrew (modern)
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Cryptographer
  • PhD, Aarhus University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

COVID19: Vaccinated with J&J May, 2021. Boosted with Moderna September, 2021.

Addicted to chili, chocolate, coffee. Outdoorsy, vegan, feminist, activist, metal head who loves good sci-fi, plays roller derby and speaks Danish, English, a mix of German and Spanish along with an assortment of programming languages.

I work with cryptography and IT security. And before you ask; no, I am not a “hacker”. At least not under the mass-media definition ;) Despite working in IT I am not a super logical person and anti-social person, but rather a reflective, emotional and social person. I do spend a lot of time reflecting on myself and the world. I am (generally) and very happy and smiling person who manages to find a silver lining in most things. I am also getting more and more into meditation, mindfulness and mental self care.
I am into animal rights and environmentalism and have lived for a while in an eco-commune in Israel, I buy second-hand and take trains instead of planes whenever possible. I also consistently take part in (mainly) animal rights street activism wherever I am.

I love traveling and meeting new people. I am very lucky that I get to travel a lot for my job, but besides those trips, if I have even I few days off, I will to go somewhere new an meet new people. I especially love travelling in the old soviet states.

When I don’t work or travel I do animal right's activism, play roller derby, do mountain biking, roller skating and whatever kind of adrenaline inducing activity I can get to. But I also really enjoy quiet nature without the noise and trace of people. Of course I also just hang out with friends and enjoy way too fancy beers.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting, surfing and showing people around my town.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I have only surfed very few times, but I have hosted quite a bit. I really like doing both as I generally just love meeting new people, especially different types of people from different cultures.

Interests

  • concerts
  • beer
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • meditation
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • metal music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • extreme sports
  • science
  • nature
  • activism
  • sci-fi
  • feminism
  • rollerblading
  • roller derby
  • cryptography

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly metal (especially melodic death metal), but also punk, industrial, goth and electronic.
I like most movies, except corny romantic comedies.
Books: sci-fi, social realism and popular science. Especially George Orwell, Philip K. Dick and Neal Stephenson.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Finished a PhD without getting a *complete* mental breakdown.

Teach, Learn, Share

I helped coaching the Tel Aviv roller derby team when I lived in Israel and I am currently doing a lot outreach type vegan activism.

What I Can Share with Hosts

People tell me I am quite a good cook, that might come in handy ?
I can probably also fix your computer if there is a need for that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Netherlands, Palestine, Philippines, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Israel, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tore’s full profile.