Joy .fully.lost's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joy’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 19 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Translating, publishing and everything else that has to d...
  • experiences and stories, within and without the walls of ...
  • From somewhere near Los Angeles, California
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


To see with new eyes


I can be shy and introverted, but when the chemistry's right I can have discussions into the wee hours. I think listening (with eyes, ears, intuition) and putting yourself in the other person's shoes is key for true interaction.
I like to buy locally, cook slowly, walk without destination, make treasures from trash. When I have the choice, I'd rather create than consume, rather act than observe, and rather have a good conversation that allows me to see things differently, than be able to say I've been there, done that, can check one more thing off the imaginary checklist.


If you open your mind too much your brain will NOT fall out of your head,so what's stopping us?
But seriously, philosophy is a big word. I strongly believe in people's connection to each other but also to our environment,and I love it when my categories or assumptions about fellow human beings are turned on their heads. How can you ever really know someone else when most people don't even know themselves? A basic trust in humanity is also extremely important to me; I'd rather be disappointed and hurt occasionally instead of never trusting people in the first place - the kindness of strangers continually amazes me

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Still exploring! However, would like to get involved in more Berlin meetups, mischief and spontaneous missions. Am also open to host occasionally, and to surf for sure. Going with the flow in stops and starts.


Hosting a few great CSers, the occasional meetup or organising something (the Historic Spreewald canoe trip, knitting). But in the end I think it's more of an outlook: opening yourself up to strangers, whether at home or while travelling. Starting random conversations an helping people out is just as valuable whether or not it has the CS stamp on it. But I am grateful for the spirit (usually) behind it.


Making stuff from other stuff: sewing, collage, mosaics
Learning language in-depth (including my native one) & satisfying my inner word-nerd
Going to museums, live concerts, readings
Planting & cultivating veggies
Meeting likeminded people, but also people I can joyfully disagree with
Bridges, trap doors and walled gardens, discovering forgotten places
Ah-ha moments

  • concerts
  • environment
  • cooking
  • crafts
  • reading
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • knitting
  • canoeing
  • swimming
  • chemistry
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

Where to start???

Books: lately nonfiction by Alan Watts, CG Jung, Joseph Campbell, Erich Fromm, Naomi Klein
but my all-time favourites are:
Haruki Murukami, ee cummings, Kerouac, Jorge Luis Borges, Julio Cortazar, Salman Rushdie, Jonathan Safran-Foer, Yann Martel, Aimee Bender, Bill Bryson, Madeline L'Engle and many more.

Movies: Spike Jonze, the Coen Brothers, Tim Burton, Miranda July, Darren Aronofsky, Kieślowski, Jean Pierre Jeneut, Hitchcock, Almodovar, Bunuel; as well as classics, obscure and short films, documentaries, film adaptations and more...

Musica: what I enjoy most is folk, indie, freak folk/ new weird america, world music(esp. Balkan, ska, swing, jazz, and this guy My daily soundtrack includes Sufjan and Cat Stevens, Radiohead, Animal Collective, Tom Waits, the White Stripes, Coco Rosie, Louis Armstrong, Michael Franti, Saul Williams, Jack Johnson, Manu Chao, the Transylvanians, and and and...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done


Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach you some basic German or the differences between Brit. and American English, how to make a yummy meal with whatever's around, basic knitting, some games, some crafts, and some other tricks up my sleeve.. Best thing I can share are my favorite places in Berlin: gardens, playgrounds, courtyards, lakes, and other hidden corners (like swimming pool concerts, expat scene and other curiousities)-and also a curiosity for hidden places and obscure knowledge about the places I travel to. The rest I'd like to learn!

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Joy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups