Joy 川's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 63 references 56 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Malagasy; learning Japanese
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Explorer
  • Theatre
  • From Lille, Nord, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi the world ! 
I'm Joy. 

[If you're requesting to be hosted in Madagascar, see below]

Thanks to couchsurfing, i think i met on my way some of the best people in the world. 
But not all of them yet, so you're maybe the next one 😊

🕺 About this happy little stupid joy-fool living thing i'm supposed to be :

I think i'm french ^^
and i've been living in a 禅 Buddhist monastery for several years
(btw i received there a "dharma name" 川靈 Senrei. Feel free to call me this way if you like it)
I think it is mostly meditation that brought me here in Asia, and especially to Japan.
To be satisfied with what life is, whatever the circumstances, is my everyday practice, so in theory i really don't need much comfort, neither any touristic sightseeing, just to enjoy being present is often enough.

And you're more than welcome to join ! From what i've experienced so far, i can say that to share this peace is a truly happy thing. ✌️

Normally, i can cook ; and i wish i could say that i can also draw, paint and write...
But i have more interest in it than i have really have talent ^^
Oh and, dear Japaneses, i'm pretty passionate about your art of calligraphy and kanjis !

I'm vegetarian but very easy going, so please no pressure, don't change your lifestyle for me, i will adapt naturally 🌻

            What about YOU ?
                          😁

----------------------------------------

🐒 About this crazy big joyful place i now call "Home" :

With a local friend from Madagascar, we made our dream come true and built our own orphanage 6 years ago.
Since, we kept welcoming more and more kids, but also volunteers and travelers.

So we'll very certainly host you if you ask for it, and if you're aware that this place is pretty special.
It's not like an individual silent house - eventhough you'll probably have a private bedroom. There is a lot of life going on when the kids aren't at school.
It's definitely an opportunity for anybody to live a simple and beautiful human experience.
Often, people leave our nest changed. Or just don't want to leave 🌞

There are no specific rules other than common sense, and to go out to smoke. Just be an inspiration, an example and have fun. 🤠
You're not a volunteer, so we don't expect from you that you work in any way ; food and bed will be provided freely, because that's a world like this that we want to built with them , but if you feel like getting involve in some task, like helping with their homeworks, cooking some food from your country, or anything you'd like, it will be very welcomed.

(In the past, we only had one bad experience with a guest, so we will trust you, but it would be nice if you have some references and some particular motivation to come to that orphanage.

... and just be a little patient for the answer please, while being on the way myself it's not always easy go get in touch with people from far.)

As you could understand if you read until here, i'm not present in person in Madagascar at that time.
It is my friend and our family who'll receive you, i'm just a bridge. 🌉

[Few more informations about it, such as the address, on the "home" page.]

Interests

  • arts
  • meditation
  • philosophy

What I Can Share with Hosts

Meditation is the central point of my life, i'd be glad to share a moment of this peacefull practice with anyone !

As a former cook in a restaurant, i can also still cook good french food... I hope so ahah !😅

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Madagascar

Join Couchsurfing to see Joy’s full profile.