Sophie S.'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 10 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Dutch, Turkish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Transcultural Studies
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Contact me via trustroots
https://www.trustroots.org/profile/juliaugust

I read novels, cook sometimes, like being outside. I enjoy having a nice cup of tea, eating chocolate and reading a good book in a quiet environment. I think parties can be as much fun as staying in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because there's no better way to get to know a place than spending time with a local. Also, a sleepover with a new friend can be lots of fun! I haven't been super active with neither surfing nor hosting lately, but generally so far, I enjoyed every single time.

Interests

When I watch a movie, I enjoy discussing it afterwards. I don't read as much as I'd like to. I try to be a better cook, so I am thankful for nice recipes or general tips on how to cook with plants.

I am also really into humanities and into how cultures and especially religions work, there is so much fascinating stuff going in there, and I love learning new theory. My interests are minority religions, migration, and urban spaces. I would like to learn more about conflict studies and how to do research on activism.

  • literature
  • politics
  • food
  • cinema
  • activism
  • society

Music, Movies, and Books

I like German novels for the simple fact that it's the language I am most familiar with and I can understand subtle hints and read between the lines more than in any other language.

Generally, authors that I liked are Isabel Allende, Michel Houellebecq, Mithu Sanyal, Friedrich Dürrenmatt, Nell Zink, Ian McEwan, and many more. I used to like Ingrid Noll but her newer novels are just no fun anymore.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Staying at home on a cozy afternoon, eating home cooked food together with a loved person.

Teach, Learn, Share

Let's exchange recipes, opinions, tips and stories.

What I Can Share with Hosts

time, food, conversation

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Germany, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.

My Groups